Skip to content

Things Which Excite Me

03/18/2010

A couple of days ago, I found myself running across a yard with binoculars bouncing on my chest, trying to catch a clear view of the ISS as it passed, low enough on the horizon to tangle itself in the branches of the trees.  The International Space station makes an orbit of the planet every 91 minutes, which gives it a speed of 7,706.6 miles per second, or 17,239.2 miles per hour.  And yes, it was moving fast, but it’s a big horizon too and I watched it for minutes, until suddenly the station passed into the Earth’s shadow and its light winked out.

At least, that’s what I assume happened.  It certainly didn’t get to the horizon before it disappeared. If you want to try and catch a glimpse, enter your location into this here webpage and check out the 10 Day predictions for the ISS.

There are people living up there, which utterly delights me (I am, to some extent, a space nerd).  I wonder if they were looking down at me.  It makes me want to do space crafts.

I love nature documentaries, and thus am hugely excited for the upcoming US version of Life.  The previews frequently show flashes of some of my favorite animals, including the Panther Chameleon, the Frigate Bird, and the Aye Aye (if you want some animal inspiration, just browse around Arkive for a while).  I do wonder why, in the US version, they forgo the fantastic narration of David Attenborough in favor of Oprah Winfrey?  I love David Attenborough.  I want to be him when I grow up.  I do not love Oprah Winfrey.  David Attenborough has dedicated his life to sharing the joys of nature and science (including creating the above-mentioned Arkive), Oprah Winfrey has dedicated her life to building a media empire that very often gives a platform to those which make mockery of nature and science.  Come on now.

Still excited, though.

In other news, I’ve found my sewing machine quite inspiring lately.   However, there are some drawbacks to sewing in a small house.  Behold, the trials of cutting fabric…

…when the fabric you’re supposed to lay out is as wide as the functional width of your house.  Oi.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 03/28/2010 11:38 AM

    Crap! No David Attenborough???
    Crap.

    Years and years (and years) ago, I lay on my back in the Saline Valley desert (just north of Death Valley) and watched the satellites cross the sky. (ALso watch form teh natural hot springs. Luscious days.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

