Skip to content

My First Mistake

04/10/2010

You know how I said that things never go as planned?

The smart thing to do, and my original plan, was this: cut out the green sleeves, leaving a pointed sleeve cap.  Then lay the green shirt on top of the black shirt and chalk the outline of the armhole onto the black shirt.  Then add the black side panels in Hal’s armpits onto the chalk drawing on the black shirt, THEN cut and sew.

This was not what I actually did.  Oh, it started out as planned.  I chalked up the green sleeves (heh) whilst on the dressform, then took the shirt off and neatened up my chalking with a ruler.

Got a little scissors happy, and hey!  The green shirt was ready to go.

Where I screwed up is the black shirt.  See this, right below, is how I unthinkingly cut the black sleeves.  Something’s off.  Something’s missing.  Maybe it’s time to revisit the plan.

Let’s see: cut out the green sleeves, leaving a pointed sleeve cap.  Check.  Then lay the green shirt on top of the black shirt and chalk the outline of the armhole onto the black shirt.  Check.  Then add the black side panels…

Oops.  I kind of skipped right to the “cut the black shirt” step, without modifying it to include the side panels on Hal’s uniform.

All is not lost, however.  I sewed the sleeves together, then decided to applique on the rest of the black side detailing.

And hey, I probably should have cut the appliques larger (and really, probably, should have made them part of the sleeve initially) but it still didn’t turn out half bad.  See?

I think it’s time to focus on the general area of the hips.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/10/2010 2:41 PM

    I like it.
    I haven’t thought about the Green Lantern for a long time, but I love watching the Green Hornet whenever I can find the show.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

