Skip to content

Spooky Shoes!

10/13/2010

 

I could claim this was a Halloween project, but that wouldn’t be true.  Truth is, I’m a morbid sort of gal, and I really like my bits of morbid to be anatomically accurate, and this idea had absolutely nothing to do with the darkening season.

 

But I’m posting it around Halloween, so if you need some seasonally-appropriate shoes, I’ve got your back.

 

First, you’ll need some paint-able shoes.  Unless you want to invest in specialty paints, look for plain canvas.  I found these rather unremarkable slip-ons at the thrift store.

 

They’re not real stylish, yet.  First thing, though, I had to remove the laces.  Those would get in the way of what I wanted to do.  I cut out the laces and hand-stitched the tongue to the shoe to give myself a nice broad blank canvas.  Then I pulled up a reference or two:

 

 

Anatomical and scientific accuracy is important when making fancy shoes, you know.

 

Since I was using white shoes, I could draw all the lines in pencil.

 

 

I managed to fit from about the Navicular and Cuboid bones down.  Your mileage may vary, depending on your shoes.

 

Now it’s time to paint!  I used cheap acrylics from the craft store (we’re talking less than a buck each), mixed with textile medium (not much more than a buck each).  You should be able to find the textile medium right next to the acrylic paints.  Black and white fit my purposes, of course:

 

I started with a rough outline in the black paint, then went in and painted the white areas white to cover up any strains or stray pencil marks (and there were a LOT of stray pencil marks), and make the bones really pop.  I recommend having two brushes on hand- one big one, for the big areas, and one for fine detail.

 

And voila!

 

 

I’ll be wearing these year-round, of course. I like things a little spooky.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. triicia newton permalink
    10/14/2010 8:19 AM

    Fantastic!!!!! good idea

    tricia (australia)

  2. 10/14/2010 11:17 AM

    Awesome shoes, you should call them x-ray shoes! :-)

  3. 10/19/2010 5:37 AM

    Just great! Such attention to detail! Yes, that’s my way of saying I’d be too lazy to do all that myself but I can admire yours from afar. I’m a year-round spooky kind of girl too. Why limit my weirdness to the Halloween season?

  4. 11/07/2010 11:37 AM

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

  5. 07/05/2012 11:46 PM

    GENIUS!

Trackbacks

  1. Theme Thursday – Halloween
  2. 101 DIY Halloween Crafts, Costumes, Party Ideas, Recipes + More » Susan Tuttle Photography

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

