Skip to content

Here We Go Now: Reconstruction Month

02/01/2011

To tell you the truth, I’m actually kind of intimidated.  I mean, a themed month?  From me?  The craftblogger who periodically disappears without warning for weeks at a time?  The audacity!

I’ve never been one to refuse a challenge, though, and so I officially declare it Reconstruction Month on Corvus tristis.  These are the winning ideas from the poll:

We have ourselves a minidress from a large shirt, a ruffled minidress (possibly skirt, depending on time), a superhero shirt and a wrap skirt.  Let’s break them down a little, shall we?

Wrap Skirt

 

To make this complicated, I plan to make it reversible.  I’ll also add interest by curving the forward hems, and with some lines of decorative stitching.  I have a pair of huge men’s t-shirts (local trivia night booty) that I plan to start with, though I’ll probably have to go to the thrift store for the other reversible bit.  Because I want the overlap at the front of the skirt to be rather deep (the better not to flash anyone), I may end up needed four shirts for this one skirt.  We’ll see- it’ll depend on the length I choose as well.

 

Minidress

 

If I were using a stretchy knit, the bodice shape wouldn’t be too intimidating, but as I’m using a man’s shirt (which, as I’ve previously mentioned, don’t actually have a lot of stretch for a knit), I think I’ll probably have to add some darts to accommodate my, erm, ample assets.   As such, I plan to use a scrap t-shirt to figure out the shape before I cut into the actual shirt.

 

I may give it an asymmetrical hemline, if there’s enough fabric.  I already have a shirt I want to use, and hope to use the scraps left over from my Stanley Livingstone Expedition reconstruction for the yellow bits.

 

 

Flash Hoodie

 

Before the thought of Batman or the Green Lantern or even an embroidered Wonder Woman shirt crossed my mind, I wanted to make a Flash hoodie.  I wanted it for jogging, you see.  Get it?  Go running… in a Flash hoodie?  I mean, what could be more geektastic than that?

 

I’d like to start with a red sweatshirt or hoodie, and I’m not sure I’ll be able to find one.  If I don’t, I’ve got ideas for Harlequin, Poison Ivy, and Aquaman (no, really- I think Aquaman would be awesome).

 

 

Ruffled Dress

 

This one may be the hardest of the bunch.  I’m thinking to use eyelet tape to put some decorative lacing up the front, then make tiers of ruffles for the skirt.  I’m aiming for a kind of a peacock color theme, and will probably need to go to the thrift store for, well, just about every bit (except the eyelet tape!).

 

So that’s the plan.  Slight complication, though: remember the job I mentioned?  Last time we spoke on the topic, I was sitting down to step 2, a written exam.  Out of nearly 90 people, the top twelve moved onto step 3, an oral exam.  Happily, I’m one of those twelve. The exam is on Friday, so Reconstruction Month may get off to a slow start.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. witcharachne permalink
    02/02/2011 5:39 AM

    Good luck! Though you won’t need it – you’ll do awesomely :)

    • 02/19/2011 2:23 PM

      Thanks! Even if I am lagging, I will finish all of them eventually.

  2. 02/02/2011 11:11 AM

    A job can be a wondrous way to fund stash :-}

    Those all sound like interesting projects :-}
    I love Aquaman

    • 02/19/2011 2:23 PM

      I would have to stitch a scale pattern into the top for Aquaman, I think. I don’t have the patience for that right now, but some day!

      Must fund stash!

  3. 02/02/2011 12:08 PM

    Heart the flash hoodie. Even though I *hate* running. :P Actually, all of the superhero hoodies sound awesome. :)

    Good luck with the exam, I’m sure you’ll do great!

    • 02/19/2011 2:24 PM

      Thank you! Alas, that particular job didn’t work out, but I’ll keep trying!

  4. 02/22/2011 8:31 PM

    *dies* i looove that flash sweatshirt! I can’t wait to see a finished one. Just think how you will be mobbed by admirers at geek girl con. :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

