Skip to content

Corvus’ Furniture Workshop

04/11/2012

Also known as “my tiny little deck”.  And later, when it got cold,”my tiny little kitchen”.   Important tools include a sanding block (medium grit), a hammer and a couple of nails, wood stain, primer, paint, paint brushes, one rum and coke, and two pieces of furniture looking for makeovers.

I tackled the easy one first: a pretty much unfinished nightstand that I’ve been dragging around with me for years.  It’s not that I don’t like it how it is, but of late I’ve settled on a nice, dark, rich walnut for the bedroom.  So far I’ve got the dresser and my heart set on a really expensive bed I’ll probably never buy, and the nightstand was starting to stand out in a “college dorm” sort of way.

Behold, my nice, dark, rich walnut. Brush on… wait… and voila!  

 

That’s one down, one to go.

Next up: this, erm, beauty gets a paint job.  She came to me from Goodwill with her paint (coincidentally, a dark walnut) scuffed and scratched, the nails loose on one of the boards causing it to bow out and make the lowest drawer stick, and barely a speck of particleboard in sight. One of these things is good.  The rest needed remedying.  After a few minutes with a hammer whacking the loose bits back together, I followed these instructions to repaint the thing, which were lovely.  

Step 1: rough it up real fast with a handy dandy sanding brick, to make sure the paint sticks well.  Then it’s time to prime.  I used an aerosol primer, making sure to carefully tape up my dropcloth so I didn’t also prime my poor rented multipurpose deck:

It didn’t help.  I still painted the deck.  Anyone know how to get latex paint off concrete?  How about a nice, dark, warm walnut stain?

I gave it another light once over with the sanding brick to knock down the drips from bad spraycanning (what can I say, I am no graffiti artist), primed again, then slapped on paint layer 1:

Now this next step is very important, so pay close attention.  While layer 1 is drying, go fix yourself some baked southwestern sweet potato fries.  One small sweet potato, three minutes of work, forty minutes in the stove, and you’ve got a fantastic snack for one. I’m so not kidding; this is crutial.  Do it.  Eat it.  Hide them from anyone who wants to try and eat more.  Thank me later.  

Then it’ll be time to paint layer 2. Of course, this being Colorado, layer 2 got done in the kitchen while the snow drifted down on the deck less than 24 hours after 75-80 degree temperatures:

 

 

Step the last is to reattach the hardware (or add new hardware, if you want. I’m still considering it).

 

 

I think it needs something more, though.  I think I’m in the market for a good star stencil and/or vinyl stickers (you know, the ones that still have the backgrounds they were cut from).  Maybe something with more than the usual points?  Any suggestions?

In other news, furniture refinishing newbie that I am, I vastly overestimated how much paint I need.  

 

Anyone in the Denver area have a use for a can of blue gliddon?  I’ll trade you for some star stencils.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. spidermom permalink
    04/11/2012 12:36 PM

    great post! i feel your pain, it is a challenge to live in colorado when it comes to painting! wish i had some star stencils :)

    • 05/05/2012 1:33 AM

      As awesome as star stencils would be, should you have a particular need for blue paint I would be quite willing to swap for, say, a friendly comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

