Skip to content

BFFs

07/08/2012

Raise your hand if you made friendship bracelets from embroidery floss as a kid.  I did, of course- I did just about every crafty thing a kid in my era could do.

(Some things never change.)

I’ve noticed those friendship bracelets are coming back, now that we Children of the Floss have come of age and are hitting the nostalgic point of our young adulthoods, and I approve.  Thing is, dinky little bracelets just aren’t my style.  I prefer some chunk.  Enter this stuff:

Waxed cotton thread, in size humongous. Which, when knotted together, makes something kind of like this:

It comes in all sorts of colors, though I bought four to start with.  And at that gauge, you wouldn’t believe how fast I can spit out a bracelet.  Fifteen, twenty minutes, tops.

So now I’m collecting ideas for the rest of the spools.  What were your favorite friendship bracelet patterns when you were a kid?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/09/2012 8:37 AM

    Wow, I love it! The whole friendship bracelet thing bypassed me a bit when I was a kid (I think I was either too young or too old, can’t remember which!), but I’m definitely planning on breaking my friendship bracelet virginity. The latest issue of Mollie Makes (I think you can get that in the US to?) has some fantastic friendship bracelets.

  2. 07/10/2012 1:19 AM

    Children of the Floss, I love it! I admit I made a ton of friendship bracelets and I still have a whole box of embroidery floss for those time when I get the urge to make one. I love this idea though, where did you buy the waxed cotton thread?

    I get all my patterns from http://friendship-bracelets.net when I need inspiration though I almost always come back to doing chevrons, they just make me happy.

  3. 07/22/2012 3:34 PM

    Love this! I’ve been meaning to make some of these, seems like it would be such a relaxing activity.

  4. Cindy G. permalink
    10/10/2012 1:55 PM

    Somehow, I missed this post when it first came out. And now, I want to make some! But, where can I buy that fabulously humongous waxed cotton thread? Also, can you define what size “humongous” actually is (in this case, at least!)?

Trackbacks

  1. Friendship Bracelet Addiction « Corvus tristis: Science, Craft and an Odd Bird

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

