Skip to content

Practicing Photography: Mishto

08/03/2012

Some aspiring photographers practice on their children.  I? Have a cat.

I set the aperture as wide as I can and get in as close as he’ll let me- which, at this point, is pretty close.  Likely due to my influence, Mishto largely ignores a DSLR in his face, except to occasionally stick a paw out.

Which is adorable.

I imagine I’d take much the same approach to human portraits, though I’ve yet to pin down a friend to give it a try.  I need a local friend (or pack of them) with the photography bug- then we could practice on each other.

But until then, I’ve got a pretty good model bumming around here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/03/2012 10:49 AM

    Photographing pets is definitely the best way to practice! For some reason my friends aren’t as okay with me sticking a camera inches from their face!

    • 10/23/2012 7:34 AM

      Mishto wasn’t really at first either, but I trained him. Funny thing is, my friends are starting to get used to it too.

  2. 08/06/2012 5:43 AM

    Beautiful kitty! I love photographing our beasties but most are so busy it’s hard to get them holding still…I’m getting pretty good at plants (which don’t move at all) and sewing projects…I’ve started on food which normally doesn’t move either…

    • 10/23/2012 7:35 AM

      Mishto likes to roll over on his back, stick all four paws in the air, then just sit there and ignore everything for hours. It’s adorable. Also very photogenic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 173 other followers

