Skip to content

Greetings and Salutations.

02/06/2007

Hello world! Here I am and this is me and I’m excited and determined to give the grand tour of I and me to you, even though ‘you’ don’t exist at this precise moment. You are currently an audience of zero. This shall be remedied.

Excited, determined and optimistic; it’s a good note to start out on, no?

I never know quite what to say for introductory blurbs. Sure, I can tell you about me, but I doubt that’s why you’re here in the first place. It’s pretty basic anyway: I am 21, a Leo, and an undergraduate double majoring in Biological Sciences and Microbiology with a minor in Biomedical Sciences (read: geek). I’m a pirate in multiple senses of the word, and have the documentation to prove it. I knit, I crochet, I sculpt and paint and draw and sew. I make jewelry, I play violin and flute, I embroider and in general craft and create. Notice I have not claimed to do any of these things well. That doesn’t matter. I am an idea woman and dreamer, and this embryonic blog is the spawn of both.

And that, I think, is why you’re here. Blog! To be more precise, a blog which covers the last five sentences of the above paragraph (maybe six- Pirates are awesome).

Let’s just get started then.

Behold, my latest project:

Project- Hurry Up Spring Armwarmers
Project- Hurry Up Spring Armwarmers
Noro Kuryeon Colorway 163.

The above are a pair (almost) of Hurry Up Spring Armwarmers from the book Stitch n Bitch Nation. Most of the knitting of the first armwarmer was done in various classes. Shhh. Don’t tell my professors.

I’ve decided this particular project is a sacrifice of time and effort to whatever Weather Gods may be, begging for Spring to hurry it up already. Eostre? Brigid? Punxsutawney Phil? The first armwarmer used up enough of the Noro ball that I couldn’t make its mate from the same ball, but left enough yarn that something had to be done. Armwarmers alone might impress some lower divinity, thought I, but a weather god? No, that requires something more impressive. That requires a coordinated set.

Noro Headband
Noro Headband
My ears shall never be cold again.

Oft referred to on Craftster.org as a ‘Panta’, this headband design is available for free on the Garnstudio site.

And by and large, that’s my current focus. My goal of the month is to get this set and two other projects off the needles and into the closet- and not only in the closet, but in the closet on hangers and in drawers of wearable stuff, not balled and hidden in a dark corner to languish unfinished until the end of time. (Oh, you know what I’m talking about. Deny it all you want- we’ve all had Monsters of Lost Momentum or Beasts of Big Fat Mistakes That are Easier to Ignore Than Fix hidden in our closets at some point.)

What might these two other projects be? Will your humble hero complete her goal of the month? What will come next into the wild and crazy world where Biology, College and Crafting meet? I’d say “tune in next time to find out”, but this closing is cliche enough already. Ciao!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

