Skip to content

*insert theme song here*

02/12/2007

In many movies and TV shows there is an opening “hook” sort of sequence before the introductory credits. I’m sure it has some technical name, but that is not my field, so I’ll stick to my observations with the caveat that I don’t much pay attention when the TV is one. Observation number one: this sequence may or may not have anything to do with the following plotline. Observation number two: said sequence usually ends with a dramatic splash or particularly witty one-liner, so to drag you through the credits, commercials, theme songs and clips like an unfortunate trout pining after the glittery promise of the lure.

Observation one is rather difficult to screw up, seeing as it plays both sides of the field, but unless you count knitting pictures as dramatic or witty, I’ve failed you, dear audience, on observation number two. Let’s hope the opening credits (pick your own theme song) are more plesant than a fishhook through the cheek.

WTF?
WTF?

Cat of the Domain. Adorably dim master of all he surveys (ie my apartment, my crafting, my homework and me).

Zzzzz
Zzzzz

I told him I’d take a picture of him sleeping and plaster it across the internet for all to see. This is Dan.

Beastie
Beastie

Her name is “Beastie” and I love her. She is, however, a damn sight more powerful than my last machine and so we’re still working on a treaty-of-regular-usage we can both live with. I just can’t seem to get a straight line out of her, which is sad, because I’ve been sewing since childhood.

Stash-a-licious
Stash-a-licious

Home of all stashes be they yarn, fabric, pattern, bead or bric-a-brack (including, y’know, clothing and underwear). It is small, but do not mistake it for benign clutter. It is a pathless bog that echos with the despondant cries of the men and women it has swallowed whole.

Bling!
Bling!

When my camera first arrived, my immediate thought was to take it out of its box and take a picture of it with my (insert fanfare) new camera! I’m sure you spotted the circular pit of doom on that one faster than I. Ergo, a stock picture. All the photographs taken by yours truly for this blog come from this lovely machine, a Canon Powershot SD700 IS.

Why yes, I do jump on my bed.
Why yes, I do jump on my bed.

And of course, your humble narrator and guide through this unmapped wilderness. I’m an adult, really. Legally at least.

I figured I’d end the opening credits with a quick pointer re: my blog’s set up. You see that little list to the right, beneath the links to my store and deviantart gallery and such and above my humble little Blogroll? Those are lists of online patterns and tutorials, some with a price tag but most free, which I thought were cool. There’s over 400 links on the knitting/crochet list alone, tagged by free or pay, by crochet or knit, and by the type of pattern. If you know any online depositories of patterns I missed, or think you’re offering a pattern I’d like, let me know! Otherwise, well, there’s a wealth of ideas out there on the internet, and I figured I’d throw together a guide to some of my favorites. I hope you get some use out of it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

