Skip to content

The Many Indignities of Tigger

03/07/2007

Tigger
Tigger

Sure, he looks calm and regal, a cat who is truly the master of his domain…

I wasn't using that chest fur anyway.
I wasn’t using that chest fur anyway.

…but flip him over so his four furry paws wave in the air and the true indignities of his life are laid bare. Tigger, of course, will insist that he wanted the vet-people to pin him down, shear off his lovely belly floof, smear him all over with slimy goo and poke and prod him for the better part of two hours. He is a cat, and he will not admit humiliation.

And why all the trouble? To take a nice, up close and personal look at Tigger’s little kitty heart.

Diagnosis
Diagnosis

To quote: “An echocardiogram showed mild hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (thickening of the walls of his heart) and a leaky mitral valve. His heart rate is intermittently too fast so we will be starting him on a medication to slow down the rate and hopefully prevent progression of the cardiomyopathy.” To translate: “Tigger’s got heart issues, but they aren’t bad yet.”

I bought a (suprisingly cheap) bottle of pills, a pill splitter, and bundled Tigger home. Like the sweet and complacent little beast he is, he took it all in stride- of the two of us, I’m the one who’s most unhappy, and I don’t even have residual goo caked into my residual fur. Perhaps there is a lesson to be learned here.

The important point is that we caught this while still mild and treatable- and we caught it because of all the kind people out there who heard Tigger was having issues and meandered over to my Etsy shop- if I hadn’t had help in paying the emergency bills for his UTI, I would never have been able to drop $300 yesterday for the cardiology assessment. So thank you. I would have paid his emergency bills either way (I will not sit and let him suffer if I have to stop eating and go onto care credit to do it), but being able to afford preventative work could mean years on his life.

So. Enough of that downer stuff! My kitty is alive and doing well for his age, and four-pills-a-day regimines aside he loves me and loves sunshine and all is good. And I? I have been crafting.

The third object I mentioned that I make on Days of the Dead Muse, and the one I make most often, is earrings.

Delicate
Delicate

Earrings are great because it really doesn’t take much, materials-wise, to make some really great pieces.


Jester

Furthermore, while you could take hours on a pair of earrings, you can also easily finish a pair before even the shortest of crafting attention spans runs out.

The Last Rainy Day of the Year
The Last Rainy Day of the Year

Purple Rain
Purple Rain

Yesterday, once Tigger was safely back in his favorite sleeping spot (which, by and large, hasn’t included me since his seizure- hopefully he’ll forgive me some day), I pulled out a pile of gorgeous cube beads and decided to try various similar-but-different styles. I’m quite happy with the results, though it took some trial and error to figure out how to photograph them- my usual “white background” schtick doesn’t quite cut it with clear cube beads. Instead, I tried my desk:

Salt, Design 1
Salt, Design 1

First, a stack: one big cube and two small in sequence.

Salt, Design 2
Salt, Design 2

Second, a bunch of little cubes attached to a single chain beneath a big cube.

Salt, Design 3
Salt, Design 3

And third, individual small cubes attached to individual chains under a big cube.

I’m still not sure of the best way to photograph such pieces (any suggestions?), but nonetheless I really, really like them. They catch the light remarkably. Unfortunately, the drive to support Tigger continues, so I’m not going to keep any of them. Maybe someday I’ll make myself another pair, eh?

Next post: the return of knitting!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

