Skip to content

In Corvus tristis news…

03/14/2007

Greenery
Greenery

…I got a plug in the CraftZINE Blog! Sure, they spelled fascinator wrong, but that’s cool. Anyone who’s dropped in via that plug, let me know- even if you don’t have an LJ account, anonymous commenting is always available. I’m curious as to what sort of audience I have thusfar.

Second, I have a new hobby, and yea, it is a hobby of picspam. I’ve started grabbing my camera and walking around town for hours at a time with my eye open to good shots. The result of my first such outing, I posted here. Now I give you two more:


Campus

To Yates
To Yates

This is my walk every day from Calculus to Medical Bacteriology. That big building in the distance with the row of pipes stabbing out the top is Yates, and it marks the natural sciences region of campus. If you’re ever looking for me at CSU, that area is a damn good place to start.

Natural Resources
Natural Resources

At some point, water flows down this thing. Now is not that point.

Administration
Administration

Picnic?
Picnic?

I can’t wait for good picnic weather. It’s actually been warm enough this week, but I require actual greenery to get in the proper picnic mood.

Tree
Tree

Comparison: Bolts
Comparison: Bolts the Lesser

Now I want you to take a close look at the pictures above and below. Notice the way the signs are bolted to the wall. In one: four small hex-headed bolts at the corners. In the other: twenty-something dome-headed uberbolts all around the edges and at the center of the sign. Do you find this as hilarious as I do?

Comparison: Bolts
Comparison: Bolts the Greater

Feathers
Feathers

First Flowers of the Season
First Flowers of the Season

Gasp! Flowers! I walked all over campus for an hour looking for these things, for I knew I had spotted them somewhere the day before. They were right outside Yates.

Lonely Pigeon
Lonely Pigeon

Stolen
Stolen

Why you should think about how you’re locking your bike in before actually locking it in.

Dry Vines
Dry Vines

The Oval in Late Winter
The Oval in Late Winter

I have one year left here, so I plan to get Spring, Summer and Fall versions of this shot as well.

Old Town

Teal and Brick
Teal and Brick

Pretty building!

Puma
Puma

This was outside a random sub shop (we have a lot of those), surrounded by sidewalk and parking lots on all sides.

Tiles
Tiles

The Upstairs Window
The Upstairs Window

Near the Fort Collins Food Co-Op, which I did not know existed until I started wandering around with a camera.

Broken Mirror
Broken Mirror

Look, it’s me! Ahhh!

And finally, I’m considering joining a juried art co-op. I’d have to submit some pieces for them to look at, and if accepted would owe yearly dues, a part of all my sales, and a certain number of hours a week to the co-op. Their comission rate is 40/60, which (while about average) is higher than some other brick-and-mortar and even online establishments I’m considering, particularly if you count the dues and the working. I’d have to do some calculations to see if I think I could actually pull a profit; quickly though, as the next chance to submit said pieces for judging is next week. Failing that, I’d have to wait two months. We’ll see.

It’s a shiny looking place, I must say. If anyone in Fort Collins wants to drop by and see some of the great work they offer (I’m totally lusting after a wooden jewelry box), it’s right off Old Town Square in one of those broad pedestrian alleyways between the streets.

Trimble Court Art Co-Op
Trimble Court Art Co-Op

What do you think? Do I have anything worth standing up beside actual artisans?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

