Skip to content

What I Did With My Tuesday Night

03/14/2007

Is a fascinator a bit too much fluff for you? Does your hair deserve something shiny anyway? Have no fear, beaded combs are here!

How to wear a beaded comb, by my Mom.
How to wear a beaded comb, by my Mom.

I’m contemplating throwing together a tutorial, but it’s rather simple. You get your comb, your beads, and your wire and you go. Presto!

Even Hair Needs Shiny Things
Even Hair Needs Shiny Things

I started making these over winter break, for Giftmas presents, and it’s a fun project. They end up rather hefty sometimes, but will stay quite well in a bun or similar style. The one above I made at the same time as the Giftmas presents, and have since given away.

Notice for both the fascinators and these I’ve suggested buns. This is not because those are the only, or indeed the best, way to wear these things. This is because bun and pony-tail (which, in my world, is a bun with the ends pulled out) are the only hair styles I know how to do. I will remedy this some day, but tend to be more concerned with making shiny things than making shiny hair right now. Also, I really wouldn’t know where to start- my hair is very, very fine and traditionally very difficult for even the best to style, much less little ol’ me.

But back to the beading! Last night I wanted something fun and (of course) shiny, and so I set aside Tempting and the mystery hat and other “big” projects and broke out my jewelry supply stash.

Flower Combs
Flower Combs

I really like these ones. The first, I just grabbed whichever color my roaming fingers pleased.

Flowers- Summer
Flowers- Summer

The second, I stuck to a limited palette of oranges, yellows and greens. It’s either an early fall thing, or an early spring thing- remnicent of the period when most the world bears the colors of the colder months, but a few hopeful sprouts shine through. It’s a transition thing.

Flowers- Fall
Flowers- Fall

Then I made this one. For some reason, I’ve had a big thing for teals recently, particularly when combined with white or cream.

Shiny for the Hair
Shiny for the Hair

Finally I got the bright idea to make a comb to match a set I’ve had sitting around (and listed on Etsy) for a while. Voila! The original goldstone and quartz set, titled “Berith“.

Berith
Berith

And it’s new addition, the comb:

Berith's Comb
Berith’s Comb

I have yet to decide if I want to keep any of them, or toss them all to my etsy store for my dear Tigger’s sake. The latter will likely prevail- I mean, if I really find myself wishing I had kept one, I can usually make another (assuming I can find the right beads).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

