Skip to content

Guest Crafter!

03/21/2007

First off, you absolutely must go see the fascinators _diane made. I have been outclassed, but at least I can feel proud I helped inspire such fine work.

Second, I would like to produce evidence that I am not the only woman of the Cox line with the crafty gene- in fact, I’m probably in the shallow end of that particular gene’s pool. Behold, my Aunt’s handiwork:

Guest Crafter: Helix Up Close
Guest Crafter: Helix Up Close

Guest Crafter: Helix
Guest Crafter: Helix

She does remarkably intricate beading; the sort of stuff I’ve long admired but always known, deep inside the realistic portion of my brain, that I’d never have the patience for. I once tried peyote stitch; after much frustration and cursing I made a 1×1.5 inch pirate flag, called it a keychain, and never tried again.

Guest Crafter: Laguna Moon
Guest Crafter: Laguna Moon

I’ve since lost that keychain.

Guest Crafter: All Hallows Bracelet
Guest Crafter: All Hallows Bracelet

I’ve been naming them as best I can, because I’ll be selling them as soon as I figure out where the best venue is to do so. My dear, kind Aunt sent me this box of treasures because she heard about Tigger’s trouble- however much I may want to keep some of the pieces (seriously, look at that amulet bag!), they are predestined to pay Tigger’s vet bills.

Guest Crafter: Gold Rush Bracelet
Guest Crafter: Gold Rush Bracelet

Guest Crafter: Tanderine Bracelet
Guest Crafter: Tangerine Bracelet

Guest Crafter: I want this one.
Guest Crafter: I want this one.

I know, “I want this one” is not a very good selling name. I’ll come up with something better once I get over the whole “I want!” thing.

Guest Crafter: Matching Bracelets
Guest Crafter: Matching Bracelets

Guest Crafter: Patriotic Helix
Guest Crafter: Patriotic Helix

This last stitch she taught me years ago, and I had completely forgotten about it. It’s something I do have the patience for (just barely) and I love these bracelets. The spring-y one makes me think of lemonade. What I’m saying is, you can expect to see my own versions soon. Hell, I may even write up a tutorial- though I think I’ll wait for hers to sell first.

Guest Crafter: Spring Bracelet
Guest Crafter: Spring Bracelet

See? Look at those bright colors.

My biggest concern is that the first two pieces are easily worth hundreds each, which is well above my Etsy norm. Where do I go to find the proper audience for such beautiful things?

I shall round things off with a picture of the benefactor of all this mindblowing work:

I see.
I see.

Cat + Camera Macro Function = Love

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

