Skip to content

A Collection of Little Bits

04/02/2007

So much to ramble about. Well, not event-wise or even project-wise, but putting-off-studying-wise? Oh yes. I could go on for days.

I’ve managed a few little projects over the past week or so, though all my work is slow going and usually small in nature. It’s getting towards cruch time for the Spring semester, and I find myself having to think about microbes and physiology more than beads and sewing.

I’ll start with this:

I’ve signed up for two months at Wardrobe Refashion! Ergo, I have a pledge to make. Behold:

“I, Tala Cox, pledge that I shall abstain from the purchase of “new” manufactured items of clothing, for the period of two months. I pledge that I shall refashion, renovate, recycle preloved items for myself with my own hands in fabric, yarn or other medium for the term of my contract. I pledge that I will share the love and post a photo of my refashioned, renovated, recycled, crafted or created item of clothing on the Wardrobe Refashion blog, so that others may share the joy that my thriftyness brings!

Signed Tala, Pirate Queen.”

Yup. That’s that. If I can win Beastie back, I’ll have a whole stack of things to show off for this. Fingers crossed, all.

Recently I’ve managed this pair of earrings:

Pretty Pretty Princess
Pretty Pretty Princess

And this button-and-bead explosion of a bracelet, of which I am very proud.

Button Explosion!
Button Explosion!

Each of those includes materials donated to me by Etsy seller concertinapieces, to help Tigger. I’ve got a bit more work to do on the bracelet before it’s sellable- I want to make sure there aren’t any wire ends poking out anywhere they shouldn’t (which means anywhere at all). Otherwise, I’m proud of myself.

Speaking of Tigger:

Tigger says: I watch you while you sleep
Tigger says: I watch you while you sleep

There is a possibility he was exposed to the recently recalled contaminated cat food. Unfortunately, this would have been shortly before said recalls, and thus I didn’t keep the cans around- I just know that, when we bought a bunch of cans of Hill’s Science Diet, he ate the gravy-based ones first. The cans I have now aren’t the gravy-based ones, but they were bought at the same time and, looking at them, made at the same time as the recalled food. I will be talking to the vet about this. If it turns out I fed my dear cat rat poison, I will go on the warpath, and lo, my wrath will be mighty. Beware!

Subject jump again! The Wardrobe Refashion thing got me thinking: as a young and impressionable newbie on the craftblog scene, I’ve found myself wondering where all the craftblog carnivals are. Am I just totally missing them, or is there no place for them in the craftblog world between knit/sew/whatever-a-longs and swaps?

If you’re curious, a blog carnival is where a bunch of bloggers write posts that address a specific carnival theme and submit them (posts that fit the theme can also be submitted by someone other than the blogger, but it’s considered polite to ask said blogger before including said post). Then, when the day of the carnival comes around, the carnival host makes a post introducing and containing all the links to the appropriate submitted posts and presto! It’s a multi-blog party. I’m familiar with the concept from the science blog world, which is brimming with awesome carnivals a la Skeptic’s Circle, Circus of the Spineless, Tangled Bank, and many more.

Imagine, a collection of posts from craftbloggers the world over dedicated to, say, crafting for a cause/charity, or the (possibly nonexistent) line between craft and art, or ruminations on what it means to create or the little-known history of a particular craft. It could be as specific as “knitted Celtic cable designs” or “emboridery stitch tutorials” and a broad as “why I craft”. It seems like a great way for the vast craftblogging universe to interact to me.

Finally, do any of my fellow LJers know a simple way I can add html to my blog to, say, add a tracker in, or add in buttons for blogrings/group-refashion sorts of thing, or make a links list that doesn’t limit me to far too few links? I thought I had it figured out with the whole CSS thing, but it isn’t working.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

