Skip to content

Cooking Night Returns!

09/03/2007
tags:

This particular culinary adventure began when I grabbed Mattie, my new mp3 player (who I will soon formally introduce to you all), and set out to walk three blocks or so to the Saturday Farmers’ Market on Drake.

An Expedition!
An Expedition!

As I am a socially and ecologically conscious little hellraiser, I find Farmers’ Markets to be made of fresh, tasty, locally-produced awesome. The market on Drake is exceedingly small (the big event is the Sunday market, directly across Harmony from my old apartment- I swear, this isn’t how I choose where to move), but I still found what I needed in the handful of little white tents spread across the asphalt. Combined with some cans from my cabinet, I came up with this:

Loot
Loot

Of note: the (local! fresh!) veggies and a special treat for dessert. Said treat, the bread, was a total impulse buy from a bakery at the market. I’m glad I didn’t resist it: this stuff is sinfully good.

Lemon and White Chocolate
Lemon and White Chocolate

They offered a host of other tasty-looking options as well, but there’s something about the combination of lemon and white chocolate that I cannot easily resist. After getting the bread home and sneaking a slice or two, I’ve decided that I may have to make a habit of wandering over on Saturdays to buy breakfast for the rest of the week. A small glass of milk, a slice of this delectable bread, and a sunrise sounds like a dreamy way to start the day.

Orgasmic.
Orgasmic.

Seriously: this stuff is amazing. It’s so amazing the loaf hasn’t survived the weekend, which is very bad of me. It’s a holiday weekend. I’m allowed to indulge, right? But anyway! back to the cooking.

I had the following ingredients:

2 or so tsp olive oil
.5 a large red onion, chopped
.5 tsp ground cumin
1 tbs dried oregano
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 can chopped green chile peppers, drained
1 large can (29 ounces) of crushed whole peeled tomatoes
3 tablespoons chili powder
1 can kidney beans
1 can black beans
1 can whole kernel corn, drained
Black Pepper to taste
Hot Sauce to taste

I cooked the onion in the olive oil for a few minutes and then tossed all the rest of the veggies (celery, bell pepper, jalapeno pepper, garlic, the can of green chili peppers) in with the seasonings. This little mixture I cooked on low for five minutes.

Veggies
Veggies

Next up the meat of this meatless matter: the tomato sauce, the chili powder, the beans (and hot sauce and pepper to taste). This I brought to a boil, then turned on low and left for two hours. I was going to add some garbonzo beans and maybe some other random veggie/bean bits, but didn’t have them on hand.

Chili-tastic
Chili-tastic

Finally I added the can of corn, cooked it all for a remaining five minutes to make sure everything was nice and toasty, and served it to my little all alone and happy self with cheese, freshly chopped onions (you can never have enough onions) and crushed crackers.

Success!
Success!

Voila! Vegetarian chili. Good food plus a good book makes for a happy Tala. What’s more, it’ll keep well in the fridge and thus feed me for the rest of the week. Score.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

