Skip to content

My Headphones Keep Me Working

09/16/2007

With podcasts to keep me working
Driven by Podcasts

Told you I went back to work. The first long-neglected project awaiting my tender attentions was my Sampler submission, which has been floating around in project limbo since the moment I posted about it. It’s hard to convince myself to sit down and repeat the same design over and over (I am not made for wholesale, methinks), but, equipped with podcasts, I hammered it out.

Making it a round 50
Making it a round 50

I made those little white heart earrings until I ran out of little white hearts, then counted my modest harvest: 42 pairs. Damn. I wanted to break fifty. The solution was to pull out all my various odds and ends and see what I could throw together.

Quickie 1
Quickie 1

And another two. I’ve come to realize, more and more, that there is something to be said for simplicity. Of course, there’s something to be said for complexity as well.

Vintage Quickie 1
Vintage Quickie 1

And more of the same. I’ve had these old and tarnished charms sitting around forever and haven’t been able to figure out a way to use them (I don’t have many vintage brass-or-whatever findings with the appropriate levels of oxidation on hand), but I really like how they look with the fine silver chain. I plan to make a bunch more and sell them in my shop, if only to finally get these particular charms off my hands.

The other way I kept myself going through this stack of unfulfilling projects was to stop and make something small (and different!) on the side whenever I felt the urge to up and leave. I ended up with a pair of earrings in silver and something that also looks like brass to me (this could be because I don’t know recall what brass looks like) and a pendant made of bright, cheery plastic buttons.

Shooting Stars
Shooting Stars

Look closer here.

Yay for buttons.
Yay for buttons.

And another view, here.

All that I’ve made which isn’t going to the Sampler will be going up in a big fat store update that I’m working on. I’m trying to get all the descriptions and other details written up in advance, so that I can hammer through the actual update in a few hours. Wish me luck with it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

