Skip to content

Last Gasp of Summer

10/03/2007

With the hints of fall growing stronger with every moment less the daylight lasts, I decided to take a little break and try to revel in enough beautiful foilage to get myself through the inevitably brown winter. Enter the CSU Flower Gardens.

Of course I brought my camera.

Bzzz
Bzzz

When I have my camera, I stalk the bugs as much as the bushes. They make for such fun macro shots, after all- brought up close, the fuzzy down on bees is downright cuddly. There’s more invertebrate-stalking further down in this post.

Mum
Mum

There are lables for every flowerbed and pot, but I didn’t make any special effort to remember them. Ergo, in direct contrast to my zoo pictures, nomenclature will be largely absent from this post. Mums I can ID, but these things not so much:

Jayne Hat Colors!  It's a sign!
Jayne Hat Colors! It’s a sign!

The sign being, of course, that it’s time for me to knit myself a Jayne Hat. Unfortunately I’ve been saying this for years with nothing to show for it, so don’t hold your breath.

I love these colors.
I love these colors.

That’s actually one of my favorite pictures from the afternoon. I’ve been rather fond of purples lately.

Bug!
Bug!

I promised more bugs, did I not? The picture below is my favorite bug macro in this set:

Here’s a better look at the rather impressive flower that bee was on:

That color scheme is rather inspiring to me, though a bit otside my norm- I’m trying to figure out what to do with it. I do this with pictures a lot.

I love these colors, too.
I love these colors, too.

This color scheme, on the other hand, I know exactly what I’m going to do with. I’ve got ideas for a hooded sweater made of some sort of plant fiber dancing through my skull and already sketched up, awaiting only yarn and swatching.

Fairy Path
Fairy Path

Papyrus
Papyrus

Papyrus is such a distinctive plant, and I love it. I saw it from all the way across the garden and made a beeline, then spent some time contemplating the plant and its place in human history. I’d like my own potful, which I would then demolish trying to figure out how to utilize its thin stalks as parchement.

Close
Close

Even Closer
Even Closer

The Gardens
The Gardens

I don't know what these are, but they're shiny.
I don’t know what these are, but they’re shiny.

Little Rest
Little Rest

Of course, even whilst surrounding myself with the fruits of the summer, even while soaking in the Colorado sun, fall made its insinuations heard.

Season's End
Season’s End

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

