Skip to content

I is kree-ay-tiv.

01/19/2008

“How hard can it be?” says I, as I stare at my computer screen. “You made it. Your brain was going before, during, and after you made it. How hard can it be to come up with a few engaging thoughts to put down?”

Meanwhile, the only response from the rest of my poor cerebrum is an empty buzzing, like a disconnected phone line. Doo-doo-beep! We’re sorry, the number you have dialed is not available. Bzzzzzzz.

Riiight.

So. I made this thing.

The Necklace
The Necklace

I’ve been thinking about making something like it for a while; something with that blue-painted porcelain theme which has been floating about my neurons for ages. It seemed like it would integrate quite painlessly into jewelry, particularly once I found this great centerpiece bead.

Heron
Heron

And so off I went. Grab some transite, some findings, string a pretty line of beads. Simple. And hey, while I’ve got all these matching beads flaoating around, why not make a set?

I couldn't stop at the necklace.
I couldn’t stop at the necklace.

Yep. That’s a necklace all right, and earrings too. Made it all by myself.

*crickets*

Heck, I’ve been making all sorts of little things for which I can think of nothing to say -which is sad, because I’m so full of babble for my ideas before they get made that I spend more time flirting with my imagination than actually producing results. I like to make stuff, don’t get me wrong, but I really like to think about making stuff.

Maybe the act of creation exorcises all that for me: what I needed to express is right there in my handiwork, and no longer in my head. The words and ideas have found their outlet and drained from my brain into the real world and all I’m left with is this empty, blog-killing buzz.

Well, that’s not all I’m left with. I come out with some pretty cool do-dads too.

For me!  Maybe.
For me! Maybe.

Picture’s worth a thousand words anyway, right?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

