Skip to content

The Polymer Clay Stash Strikes Back: Even More Pieces of Random

11/22/2008

Why oh why am I up this early on a Saturday?

Oh yeah.

Yesterday I showed off the morbid side of my recent polymer clay bonanza; today I’ve finished up the photographing and editing and what-have-you of the rest of them, and I’m excited to share them with you all once again. Shall we?

Roses
Roses

I made this necklace rather randomly, but I’m quite happy with how it turned out, seeing as the entirity of my plan ran thusly: “Hmm, I think I’ll make a rose. A big fat one. You know what, how about another. Okay. Now another! Enough of that. This thing would look good with a leaf… or two… or three… yeah, that’s about right. What is it though? A dust-catcher? A pin? A… necklace? Okay, a necklace. How about some chain then? What else. Beads! Ooo, pretty.” Thus was born this necklace, out of chaos and ditz-ery.

Clasp Detail
Clasp Detail

I wired it into silver findings with glass accent beads and an asymmetrical toggle clasp (I’ve got quite the thing for asymmetrical, decorated toggle clasps right now).

These next two are experiments in multiple ways. The first, I wanted to play with textures, and with highlighting texture the way I did for this pendant, as described in this post. Thus, a heart that evokes thoughts of old lace:

Two Experiments
Two Experiments

So what of the second experiment?

Building on that whole texture thing, I wanted to try and make a piece more interactive. This little booklet was the result, and worked well enough that I think I’ll be trying more complicated interactive pendants soon. Both of these I plan to put on chains and sell shortly (well, as shortly as it takes for me to buy more chain).

Little Booklet
Little Booklet

Reminders
Reminders

I rolled all the flat bits out with a dry erase marker. I am continuing proof that craft does not REQUIRE all sorts of fancy equipment… fancy equipment just makes it a lot easier. Ah, for a pasta machine.

I’ve saved the best for last. Continuing with my love for cephalopods, I bring you: Otto.

Otto
Otto

This thing took me hours upon hours, days upon days. This thing near drove me mad.

Tentacle Detail
Tentacle Detail

But it turned out really well. I attached every single little sucker (about 30 per leg) with a toothpick, and yes, he has all eight legs. In fact, all my detail work is done via toothpick- it’s the only tool I have, and I think I can say that it’s all you really need to do some fine detail work (though I’m sure better tools would make it far easier- again with the “I don’t NEED fancy tools, I just WANT fancy tools”).

Clasp Detail
Clasp Detail

Now to find Otto (and the hearts, and the eyes, and the roses) a good home. Etsy, here I come!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

