Skip to content

Cooperative Project

03/19/2009

This is James (plus one Loki):

Man Biting Cat Biting Man
Man Biting Cat Biting Man

James is a Maker. James made the bookshelves in the office (a matched pair that fit perfectly behind the double doors):

James made Loki’s kitty-dream climbing toys:

Climbing Toy
Climbing Toy

James made his own pullup bar and speedbag platform, which are in the garage and hard to photograph because the garage lighting sucks. And James is currently making a hand and a half bastard sword from an old, rusty leaf spring (a car part, for those who wonder) scrounged from the junk pile:

Bastard
Bastard

Is it any wonder I love James?

The sudden influx of beads inspired James and I into our first joint project. I had my eye on a pendant at Michaels for a while- a large copper jaguar, which I imagined mixed with Unakite. I’ve been thinking in color combinations a lot lately, and thought unakite and copper would go together fabulously. The problem was that I didn’t just want to make a string of beads, but couldn’t come up with something else to go with the elements I had already decided on. Jasper? Too dark. How about more copper? Copper beads didn’t look all that appealing, so I brainstormed to no avail, until James came along and offered his assistance. Utilizing my beading and James’s mad chainmail weaving skills, over a day of playing video games and tossing this thing back and forth hot potato style as it grew, we produced this necklace:

Jungle
Jungle

I love it.

Chainmail and Beads
Chainmail and Beads

My part involved the idea, and the beading/wire wrapping. Not much really, in the proverbial grand scheme. Mostly my job involved really wanting to put unakite and copper together in a piece for a few months, than stringing a few beads on the right gauge wire and wrapping them to give James something to work off of.

Unakite and Copper
Unakite and Copper

A few words from James, on his part (the majority part, really):

Chainmail
Chainmail

“This chain is called Jen’s Pind Linkage 3, but I prefer ‘locked spiral’. It is essentially a spiral weave with the right sized rings to lock the spiral into three planes. It’s my favorite chain because it’s so symmetrical.”

Meow.
Meow.

There you have it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

