Skip to content

Sew-Along

09/27/2009

Remember this post? I never actually found someone to do the whole deal with, though I got a lot of “maybe… let me think about it”. Time has passed, however, and I’m going to try again.

To re-explain: sometimes the book bloggers I read will pair up, read the same book, and then, rather than write individual reviews, they’ll sit down and have a discussion or interview each other and blog that. It occured to me recently that this would work quite well for crafty endeavors too, and I thought maybe I could try it with a sewing project. I just need to get myself a sewing buddy.

M5314
M5314

This is McCalls M5314, a sewing pattern for a lovely wrap dress with princess seaming, a sharp little collar, and a deep V neck. I happen to have two copies of said pattern, in size AA (6-8-10-12) (Further information about the final garment measurements of sizes 6-8-10-12 can be found on McCalls’s pattern page.) How I got these two patterns is a rather unremarkable story which, like so many of my life’s stories, hinges upon the fact that I have the memory of a goldfish on crack, and is unimportant to the scope of this post. The important thing is this: I’m going to give one of these patterns away. There are, however, MANY caveats:

1. You must live in the US or Canada, or be willing to cover shipping yourself.

2. You must be a craft or sewing blogger of some sort.

3. You must be willing to start this pattern soon after recieving it, and finish it in a set amount of time (say, a month).

McCalls patterns at Hobby Lobby are only 99 cents this week (September 28-October 3), so if you’ve got one of those nearby and you DON’T win, you could still join in for relatively cheap. JoAnns periodically puts McCalls patterns on sale for $1 as well, though I don’t see any in the near future in their current flyer. Alas.

If I get people willing to buy the pattern themselves, I’ll assign partners (or trios as necessary) and we’ll go from there. The giveaway (determined via random number generator) will end on Wednesday, September 30 (which will still leave a few days to pick up the pattern for 99 cents at Hobby Lobby, if you’d like), I’ll mail out the pattern on the 1st, and maybe we can get started on the 11th or so. We could shoot for finishing by Novermber 11th, a month later.

Sound good? If so, leave a comment (feel free to comment anonymously if you’re off platform and don’t have open ID, but please leave a link to your blog!) with your e-mail. In it, answer these questions:

1. Do you want to enter the giveaway?

2. Should you not win, would you be willing to buy the pattern yourself to participate?

3. Do these dates work for you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

