Skip to content

Cuttlefish!

10/29/2009


Cuttlefish!

Eyeballs are not the only things I’ve made in clay recently. I’ve also, unsurprisingly, churned out some cephalopods. The world could always use more cuttlefish jewelry, no? The two small beasties are for earrings and the larger are pendants. The one on the right is an experiment in using acrylic paint to highlight details and shadow and maybe make it look a little less… playful? Bright? Young? I’m not sure what I think yet. I’m also not sure how I’m going to integrate the pieces into jewelry; I have lots of ideas, some more difficult than others.

I tried to add a lot more detail this time as compares to my previous cuttlefish jewelry, and I’ll add even more detail in the next go-round. Maybe some day I’ll learn enough to make species-specific pieces with all the relevant coloration and anatomy, rather than this general stylized representative.

For example, this is the Flamboyant Cuttlefish:


Image By Jenny Huang, http://www.flickr.com/people/diverslog/

It stretches all of and imposing 6 to 8 cm long in the mantle and sees its world from a leisurely walking pace. Unique to the Flamboyant Cuttlefish, the species’ cuttlebones (used in other cuttlefish both for support and buoyancy, and by humans as calcium supplements for pet birds) is so underdeveloped that it doesn’t float, and instead walks around on the ocean floor.

So why would a slow-moving, tiny cephalopod flash such bright colors without marking itself as a particularly beautiful snack? Why, because it’s poisonous of course. The Flamboyant Cuttlefish is the only known poisonous cuttlefish in the world.

This has been your daily dose of zoology nerd. I highly recommend Nova’s Kings of Camoflauge for more.

(Side note: It’s been snowing -and hard- since Tuesday night, with no sign of letting up. I’m more of a tropical gecko than a snow bunny myself, so I’m staying safely inside where the temperature is adjustable.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

