Skip to content

Make Along

04/08/2010

Lee Meredith of Leethal.net has proposed a 24 hour Makealong for this Saturday.  Hmm.

I start a new temp job on Monday (been working on some training stuff this week).  Also hmm.  This means this weekend is my last bit of uninterrupted crafting time for a while, and the Makealong is the perfect excuse to exploit that.  So what will I be making?

Well, remember the Batman Hoodie?  The one which, back on the old Livejournal, garnered me my most hits and comments ever?  The one which is my favorite reconstruction to date, hands down?  Yeah, that one.

I think it’s time to do Hal Jordan.  Or at least, one of the Green Lantern sorts.  This Saturday, I’m going to do everything, from the thrift store shopping to designing and creating myself a nice new shirt.  And this time, I’m going to blog it step by step.  And it shall be fun.

Join me!

(Fingers crossed that the thrift store actually has the bits I need.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Autumn permalink
    04/08/2010 9:20 PM

    Hey, I found your Batman shirt on Reddit, and I was wondering if you’d post a tutorial (even a really super brief one) showin’ how you did it.
    I’d really like to make on, but wasn’t sure exactly what you did, and I’d probably end up messing it up.

    • 04/10/2010 5:36 PM

      The original Batman shirt post has a very, very quick rundown of my process, but as it was very much a make-it-up-as-you-go-along and involved more ripping seams and trying something different than I’d like to admit, I didn’t keep a very good record of exactly how I did things. Still, as I blog this Green Lantern shirt I realize that a lot of the techniques are, at root, the same. So maybe my more recent posts will help you out? There’s also a little more discussion on my Batman process in the Craftster.org post for the project, here: http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=336778.0 (this comment might help: http://www.craftster.org/forum/index.php?topic=336778.msg3898782#msg3898782 ).

      I’ll happily answer specific questions as well!

  2. 04/08/2010 9:42 PM

    Ooooh, Tala. I am so looking forward to seeing that process, kewlio!

    • 04/10/2010 5:36 PM

      Thusfar it’s kind of coming across as a catalog of fails. Sadly, it’s a fantastic representation of my usual process.

Leave a Reply

