Skip to content

The Great Button Experiment: Batch One

05/05/2010

Shall I show you my wares?

I made orange buttons:

I made lace cane buttons in purple and green:

And teal and brown:

I made black and red checkered buttons:

I made red and yellow rose buttons:

And, of course, I made octopus buttons:

Awesome octopus buttons.  I’ve already stashed two octopus buttons aside for my self, but there are a handful more.  I imagine one attached to an ocean-blue top with a sweetheart neckline gathered vertically, with the button right over the gathers.  Perhaps.  I don’t think it’d hold up very well in the wash, however, no more than ceramic, wooden or glass buttons tend to.

How do you imagine these?

I’ve managed to get a fair share of this batch up on etsy already, though there’s still a stack to go.  Then I’ve got the eyeball cane to deal with, and the skull cane to finish and button-ize.  And I need to make ads, and buy ad space on crafty websites… and then we’ll see how the experiment goes.  I’ll be paying close attention to google analytics to see where my traffic is coming from and if my traffic inceases, and I’ll certainly be watching sales.

Then I’ll tell you all, because it’s good information to have.

I’m starting to miss my other crafts.  Oh sewing, oh sweet knitting, oh art: I will return to you!  I’ve just got business to do first.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/06/2010 10:54 AM

    They look like yummy candy.

    Isn’t it funny how the business of crafting gets in the way of actually crafting? Still, I’d be interested to hear how the ads work out for you.

    • 05/07/2010 10:51 AM

      Thanks, and I’ll be sure to do a comprehensive report. I suspect it’s not so much about advertising in general as where and how you advertise, so fingers crossed that I’m off to a good start.

Leave a Reply

