Skip to content

Big Plans: My Wonder Woman Shirt

06/01/2010

What is this to you?  An ordinary business shirt?  Crisp, unremarkable, blank?

Blank is the important part.  As in, blank canvas.

I’ve been wanting, since I first started pondering my Batman shirt, to make a Wonder Woman shirt.  I couldn’t imagine my way past logistical problems, however: my chest is not forgiving of sleeve/shoulderless tops, and Wonder Woman wears nothing but (she must glue the cups to her boobs to keep them from slipping down).

See?  Boobs like that with tops like that demand either corsetry (my god, do I want a Wonder Woman corset) or glue.  I have neither.

There’s always the idea of flesh-colored fabric, of course, but that was just a bit too… costumey for me.  Yeah, I know; this, coming from the girl who regularly wears not only the aforementioned Batman top, but also her Green Lantern shirt. Still, I associate the use of flesh-colored fabric for off-the-shoulder tops with little girl’s The Little Mermaid and Jasmine costumes, and that seemed to cross some kind of stylistic line in my mind.  The idea, to me, felt less “I’m so nerdy I’ll make and wear a detailed Batman shirt, and this makes me awesome” and more “OMGIWANNABEAPRINCESSMOMMY”.  This is not to say someone else couldn’t pull it off, of course.  But it’s not for me.

So then what?  Am I to leave Wonder Woman in the dust, simply because she gets the usual skimpy female costume?  Or could I perhaps aim for a bit more of an ironic vibe?

And so I got myself a well-fitting white shirt from the thrift store, picked the second from the right Wonder Woman in the image above, put the shirt on my dress form and pulled out some chalk.  First, I drew the costume on one half of the shirt, while on the dressform.  Then I took the shirt off, and went back over the lines to make them dark.

Then I taped it, folded in half, to the window.  Yes, taped.  James is used to my shenanigans, and did not bat an eye when I started taping the laundry to the walls.

Then I traced it, to make sure it was symmetrical.  Take it off the window, touch up the lines, and it’s ready!

Ready for what, you ask?  Why, for embroidery, of course!  And, inspired by the high-detail posts of Mary Corbet over at Needle n’ Thread, I’m going to blog it stitch by stitch and step by step.

And yes, fail by painstaking, headdesking fail.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/01/2010 6:19 PM

    Can’t wait to see, gonna be awesome I am sure. Thank the gods for SOs that “get it”, eh?

    • 06/08/2010 8:42 PM

      If he ever forgets “it”, I’ll just point to the full-length chain mail hauberk he’s making by hand, one ring at a time. :)

  2. hellesbelles86 permalink
    06/02/2010 9:20 AM

    I love that you taped it to a window! I did that with a drawing done by my brother and a shirt so I could embroider it for my other brother. Fun stuff! Now if only I could get on the roof to use the skylight where it would be more flat….

    • 06/08/2010 8:43 PM

      I’ve also been known to stick lamps or even high-powered flashlights underneath glass tabletops.

  3. 06/02/2010 9:21 AM

    I’m eager to see how this turns out. Neat idea!

    BTW – they make that double sided body tape to attach your clothing to your skin. I’ve seen it in the fabric stores, near the bathing suit and bra notions.

    • 06/08/2010 8:44 PM

      I hope it doesn’t disappoint!

      Tape, eh? I think I just might have to make a fully-boned Wonder Woman corset some day.

      Once, of course, I figure out how to make corsets.

  4. 06/02/2010 2:52 PM

    Really looking forward to this! (BTW, double sided tape is the secret to non-slipping bodices)

Leave a Reply

