Skip to content

What to do When There’s Nothing to Wear

06/10/2010

I needed to do laundry.

I didn’t want to.

So I got up, and sewed myself a shirt.  Finished it before 8:30, too.  8:30’s not too bad to get dressed at.

Once again, it’s a pattern I’ve used before: Simplicity 4076 View F.

The shape of the pattern pieces, in order to get that twist front, is rather interesting.  There’s a front and a back; the back is one piece, the front, two identical pieces.

The front is the one on the left.  You sew big L-shaped chunk taken out of it closed on one piece, but leave a hole in the center.  The narrow part of the second piece  is then passed through the hole, and then sewn together itself.

See?  Cool construction.  And I have another shirt!

Now I better go do my laundry.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/10/2010 4:59 PM

    Looks great!! I hope you’ll link it up to my weekly Thursday blog party especially for all things made to be worn.

  2. 06/12/2010 5:52 PM

    Veru cool, I love sculptural designs like that, simple and elegant :-}
    And I scored the big starey Eyeballs!

  3. 06/21/2010 11:55 AM

    I just had to laugh at this–there’s been so many times where I’d honestly just sew something new than do laundry!

  4. 07/14/2010 7:04 AM

    I actually recently made a dress using this exact pattern but I made it too big…or maybe God made my chest too small…one or the other. But I like the twist so much. I’ll have to try again!

Trackbacks

  1. Summer Flowers « Corvus tristis: Art, Craft and an Odd Bird

Leave a Reply

