Skip to content

Snail’s Pace Embroidery

07/15/2010

WTF, Wonderwoman?

You couldn’t wait until I was done with my Wonder Woman shirt to change outfits?

To be fair, I embroider at roughly the same speed that grass grows or paint dries, and it didn’t help that I had a few weeks of seven-days-a-week-plus-driving work in there.  I now understand why it is that Mary Corbett of Needle and Thread can post so much gorgeous embroidery: she’s MAD fast.

This is all I’ve got so far:

I’ve got the entire outline of the chest emblem stitched at least once.  On the left side (of the picture) there’s two rows of split stitch; on the right, only one.  You can definitely see the difference.

I’m deeply tempted to make it even thicker by adding a third row… but then I may not finish the shirt before the next ice age descends.

I still haven’t decided if I’m going to leave the shirt with the Wonder Woman costume as an outline, a suggestion, or if I’ll fill in some parts with decorative stitching.  I think I need to check out a few stitch dictionaries before I decide.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/19/2010 1:24 PM

    Wow, a wonderwoman shirt! What a great idea, it sounds like a lot of fun to stitch plus a great thing to have when you’re done!

  2. 07/22/2010 6:20 PM

    That is going to be a hot ass looking shirt when you get it all done! (And I thought your Batman shirt was pretty kickass too but you’re going to surpass that, I think.) I think I agree with you about adding another row to make your stitches look thicker.

    As far as Wondy’s new look goes, I wouldn’t be surprised if they switch it back to the original costume with very little fanfare. I don’t personally like this look and it seems like a lot of fans don’t like it either. It reminds me of Diana’s costume during “Bullets and Bracelets” with DC and Marvel became Amalgam for a bunch of one shot issues. (Yep, I’m a geek!) :) This costume doesn’t strike me as being all that original.

    But your shirt is going to be FAB! :)

Leave a Reply

