Skip to content

Variations

07/20/2010

This octopus stamping is popular indeed.  It can be found both as a supply and in finished pieces all over etsy and the internet as a whole, and in every imaginable finish.

It is an octopus.  I had to give it a try myself.

I purchased a set of two octopus stampings from jlyndesigns (and a third non-octopus stamping which has not been turned into a finished necklace yet).  She included a suprise pair of starfish stampings as well, so of course I had to integrate those.  Pearls were also a necessity, and lots and lots of antique brass.

The first I made has its tentacles twisted into one brass chain, dripping with pearls.  The starfish creates asymmetrical detail.  The necklace is long, to hang low on a wearer.

In the second, I shortened the necklace and doubled the chain.  Both close with a brass toggle clasp.

Now I just have to figure out which one is mine, and then decide what to do with the other one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/21/2010 7:34 AM

    How pretty!! You’ve handled them so well, they’re so much different from a lot of the ones that I’ve seen. I have such a love hate relationship with that piece. On one hand, I love octopuses (Octopi?), and it’s a rather charming one, but on the other, I find it irritating when everyone has the same piece. Kudos for making some that look nothing like any of the others!

Leave a Reply

