Skip to content

Still working on logos.

07/23/2010

I like the new logo’s design more, but it lacks the simplicity (and, as a commenter put it, “crisp”ness) of the old logo.  So I tried lightening it up.

Which translates into banners like this:

And for the blog:

Still too busy?  Distinctive enough?  Your opinions are greatly appreciated.

ETA: Opinion one, the crow isn’t dark enough.  I think this is true.  How about this?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy G. permalink
    07/23/2010 9:14 AM

    I like it better! The white lines stand out more than the black lines. But (and take this for what it’s worth…I claim neither to be an artist or a designer), I think the grey takes away from it’s crow-ness, especially in the cropped version- I see a seagull/herring gull (even though they tend to have white heads). Cows are so distinctly black…

    • 07/23/2010 9:59 AM

      This is true. If I make it completely black, though, the eye doesn’t stand out. I’ll have to play with that more.

      Funny thing is, Corvus tristis is actually the Grey Crow. They tend to look like this, though, rather than being completely grey: http://www.snottyfeller.com/blog/images/crow.jpg

      • Cindy G. permalink
        07/23/2010 2:25 PM

        Yes! I love it in the darker grey! The red really pops and the black, white and light grey accents look great without being overwhelming in their contrast.

        And, I never knew crows came in any other color besides black. We don’t have those lovelies around here, I’m pretty sure ;)

  2. 07/23/2010 8:57 PM

    I love them them both.. :) Your bird is beautiful! I especially love the banner with the full bird, it’s a wonderful drawing!

  3. 07/24/2010 8:41 PM

    The black crow with white lines ftw!

Leave a Reply

