Skip to content

Soon-to-be-Birthday Wishes

07/30/2010

After much poking around, I’ve eliminated enough possibilities to be fairly sure that it is my computer’s motherboard which has gone bad.  I suppose I can’t complain- it was free, after all- but it’s certainly going to slow my internet life down.  Motherboards are not the simplest components to fix or replace, nor the cheapest if quality is important.  The motherboard is the computer component I have the least amount of experience working on -I’ve replaced more CPUs than motherboards, even- so before I go and buy a new part I’m waiting on a second opinion.

Then I’ll fix it.  Mad skillz, man.

Meanwhile, what’s a craftblogger without her photoediting software to do?  It just so happens that my birthday is coming up, a bit under halfway into August, and you know, there’s just something about wishlists.  Even if I never show them to anyone, I still write them.

Imagine an Etsy birthday list, picked from the best, most beautiful, most meaningful parts of etsy- absolutely perfect gifts (for me, at least).  Fifteen items, because I couldn’t stop at ten.   Right now, at this moment, my list looks like this.

One

The Grey Dress by miablaz

Two

The Muse Leather Waist Belt by ContrivedtoCharm

Three

Ethereal Lavin by BoringSidney

Four

M64 from stellarquilts


Five

Lucille Brown Leather Underbust Harness by AudraJean


Six

Tiger Lily Moccasins in Teal by darlingtonia


Seven

Celestial Rosette Fascinator by giantdwarf


Eight

Sock Garters in White with Black Leather by SWANclothing

Nine

Silver Anatomical Heart Locket by heronadornment


Ten

Ode to Absinthe Corset by labellefairy

Eleven

Candy Apple Kanzashi Hair Pin by marissajoannarojas

Twelve

Jade Phoenix and Dragon Pendant by bugaboobeads

Thirteen

Hipster Style Wonder Woman Panties by knickerocker

Fourteen

Vintage Wool Sanford Spats from LovelyLoveVintage

Fifteen

Dark Brown Vintage Granny Boots from TXVintageBootsShoes


Of course, it looks like I’ll be asking those who want to give me a gift for my birthday for motherboard donations instead (curses!), but it’s still fantastic to look.  There’s so much amazing skill on etsy!

So now it’s your turn.  It’s almost your birthday, and you want to buy (or, well, receive) handmade.  What do you want off etsy, right now?  And there’s a rule to this list: you ARE NOT allowed to look at price.  These are presents we’re talking about; you’re not allowed to know the price.  Dream big.

Meanwhile, this might keep me down for another week and a half or more, and while I can borrow James’ computer, I don’t want to hog it blogging.  Ergo, I’m considering opening up Corvus tristis to guestblogging temporarily.  If you think you have a relevant post in you- on crafting, on science, on crafting science, on geekery; a post of real quality, interesting and fresh that really shows who you are, that will make my readers love you (and thus, hopefully, get you new readers- guest post bonus!) feel free to e-mail me at corvus.mellori@gmail.com with a pitch! Tutorials and techniques, deep thoughts, reviews, and other useful bits are very welcome.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

