Skip to content

Kanzashi in Bloom

08/13/2010

I’ve made kanzashi before.  I’ve posted kanzashi before.  I’ve even written a full tutorial for making a kanzashi flower out of one type of petal.  But it’s been a while (*cough2007cough*), and when I ran into the indomitable Sister Diane‘s Kanzashi in Bloom at the library, I found myself suddenly inspired to pick up the craft again.

For those unfamiliar with the craft, tsumami kanzashi (I and my spell check always try to spell it “tsunami”) is the Japanese art of making flowers via fabric origami.   It is a beautiful art.  In Kanzashi in Bloom, Sister Diane gives her modern take on kanzashi, starting with three different folded petals and turning those into all sorts of diverse projects and variations on projects.

I, of course, had to give all three petals a try:

The bottom center has nice rounded petals; the rightmost, pointed petals (both sides); the topmost, pleated petals.  The leftmost is a combination of pleated and rounded petals.  Now all they need is some backing, some buttons and…

…this is the point where I realized I had no glue.  Not just no suitable glue for the project, but no glue at all in the house.

What kind of self-respecting crafter doesn’t have glue?

To be continued, I suppose.  @!*#! glue.  Meanwhile, if you want to see some fantastic examples of modern Kanzashi, you need not look any further than etsy.

littlecookie

AtelierKanawa

marissajoannarojas

HanamiGallery

PetalMix

mizusugi

Should you like to try your own, I highly recommend Kanzashi in Bloom.  Sister Diane even put up a video tutorial for the craft (and, of course, there’s always this old thing).

I think I need to have a kanzashi party some time soon.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/13/2010 3:10 PM

    Wow, I love mizusugi’s Kanzashi! So delicate and light. And your tutorial is awesome! (And, that is indeed a sexy needle-book.)

    …Wait. You really ran completely out of glue? Wow. I run out of food in this house twenty times before I run out of glue. :-) Too bad one can’t eat glue, actually. It would save a lot of time.

    • 08/13/2010 4:27 PM

      I think my boyfriend might have some gorilla glue in his toolbox… and I should have a jar of rubber cement somewhere. But yeah, that’s about it. I cannot find my precious E6000, or indeed anything else, and this is a tiny house with nowhere for E6000 to hide, so I must be out.

      I’ll turn in my Crafty Badge and my scissors and shuffle off in shame now.

      Thank you, by the way! Now I just have to figure out how to make those really smooth pointed petals like in the PetalMix flower, and the rounded ones with the divot, like in littlecookie’s piece, and I’ll have quite the collection of kanzashi skillz.

  2. 08/14/2010 12:50 PM

    How cool is that! I spent 2.5 years in Japan in the 1980s, What a cool way to honor that time in my life :-}

  3. 08/16/2010 5:50 AM

    wow…I am almost speechless…you do wonderful work!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Kanzashi in Bloom « Corvus tristis: Art, Craft and an Odd Bird -- Topsy.com
  2. Come day, go day. « Corvus tristis: Art, Craft and an Odd Bird
  3. Denver Craft Ninjas: Felt Flowers « Corvus tristis: Science, Craft and an Odd Bird

Leave a Reply

