Skip to content

OMGSQUEE!

08/18/2010

Look!  Look at this!  Look at this with your eyes!

I’ve heard that plenty of people have used my designs, but this is the first time I’ve actually seen one in the wild.  This is the work of awesome flickr embroideress giddy99, whose work you really should check out if you need some stitching inspiration (the pattern for the piece above is here). I love the use of running stitch as a filler and the way it follows the curves of the tentacles, and I can’t wait to see it finished.

And is it just me, or is variegated thread practically made for embroidering cephalopods?  I’ve been working on my cuttlefish in variegated blue for… well, for a long time.  I got distracted by the Wonder Woman shirt, alas.

*  *  *  *

In other embroidery news, I’ve made some progress on the whole “how are patterns printed” question, though not enough to figure out what to do.  I recently got a message on Ravelry from emilyrose (found in the blogosphere at Maybe Emily), who had run across my many “how?!” posts spread willy-nilly across the internet.  She also wanted to know the answer to this question, and was curious to know if I had made any progress.

At that point, this is all I knew:

A: The ink’s magic may be due to some kind of wax formulation…

B: It might be worth asking local print shops and, most importantly…

C: Aunt Martha’s/Colonial Patterns is rumored to do custom print jobs.

The next I hear from emilyrose, she’s contacted Colonial Patterns and is ready to give me the dish!  This is good, because it bypasses my terminal shyness, which is the reason I hadn’t gotten up the nerve to start writing companies yet.  Anyway, this is what she found out:

“They print on 18×24 sheets. The smallest amount that they will print is 750 sheets, so quantity is key. You can gang up several designs on that sheet, but they do fold the sheets in quarters. The cost is around 425 including the one time setup per image sheet of 55 bucks.”

So… yeah.  That’s a lot of money.  But it is something!  And hey, maybe they know someone capable of doing smaller runs?

*  *  *  *

Final note: the UPS man just dropped off my new motherboard.  I’ve locked the cat in the mudroom (I have no workbench and thus have to spread out on the floor- no cats allowed) and gathered a tool or two, and now I’m going in.  Wish me luck!  If this works, I have a machine again and can get back to all my crafty loveliness.  I can also spend some birthday money on fun things.  If this doesn’t work, I will be very sad AND have to spend birthday money on more parts.  Gulp!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/18/2010 8:39 AM

    I’m just getting back into embroidery to make my quilt blocks just a little more fabulous! Am always on the look out for wicked cool patterns…alas I live in the middle of no where so finding them in shops doesn’t happen…

    • 09/12/2010 9:53 AM

      Well, while I try to figure out how to start selling iron-ons of my patterns over the internet, I’ve definitely got a few free ones to scan!

  2. 08/19/2010 8:31 AM

    That is awesome to see somebody else embroidering your design. I still want to digitize some of your stuff for my embroidery machine… someday.

    Good luck with the printing of patterns. Don’t be shy about calling companies. That kind of footwork pays off BIG time in the end.

    • 09/12/2010 9:53 AM

      I’ve really got to work on that shy thing. I wonder what other companies I could call for this?

  3. 08/29/2010 10:45 AM

    Very different pattern and beautiful too, how can I see the final result? Its really lovely

    http://craftaworld.blogspot.com

    You can me out there….love

  4. Maggie permalink
    09/22/2010 3:49 PM

    Not sure if you noticed yet, but I know you were excited–so here is the link to the completed version!! ^_^

    "From the Depths" FINISHED

Trackbacks

  1. Why hello there, strangers. « Corvus tristis: Art, Craft and an Odd Bird

Leave a Reply

