Skip to content

IT’S ALIVE!

09/12/2010

Yes, friends and readers and other interested sundry, I have a computer again.  I have christened it Murphy.  This is why.

First, my last computer died.  Specifically, the motherboard went bad.  I eyed the northbridge with suspicion, and ordered a new motherboard.

When I received the new motherboard, I discovered that my computer case was built in such a way that a) only the original motherboard would fit and b) the CPU fan/heatsink assembly would only fit the original motherboard.  I don’t know why I hadn’t noticed this before.  With increasing desperation I tried to dremel things into a workable shape, failed, and ordered a new case and new fan/heatsink assembly, anxiously eyeing my bank account.

These new parts received, I put together a passable -nay, lovely!- machine.  The power supply from the previous machine wouldn’t fit the new one (the wires, alas, were too short), but that’s okay: I’m a geek, and I had an extra power supply hanging around.

An extra power supply which worked for approximately 1.3 seconds, then died forever.  Insert myself banging my forehead into the desk repeatedly here.

So I ordered a new power supply, and while I was at it, threw all my fear for my bank account to the wind and ordered a copy of Windows 7.  Insert yet another stretch of waiting-for-shipping, and lo!  I had the last two parts I could POSSIBLY NEED to get this thing running.

Except, y’know, the new power supply arrived DOA.  Defective.  Does not work.  This is something which will inevitably happen with hardware (they check functionality on a percentage of the products which roll off the line, not all; thus, a few bad ones tend to get through), but I was rather hoping to avoid it.  So right now I’ve got the too-short power supply propped up right next to the case on a stack of boxes and my external harddrive, plugged in and running the computer beautifully as I try and exchange the defective supply, and hey, it runs.  It’s not pretty (yet), but it runs.

Hence Murphy.  Mechanic-ing?  Makes my hair fall out and my bank account cry.

Side note: all my dealings thusfar are with Newegg, which is a fantastic place for your computer needs.  I don’t get my computer parts anywhere else, and in years this is the first thing I’ve had to RMA to them.

I’ve heard their RMA process is surprisingly unaggravating.  I’ll let you know if the rumors are true.

*  *  *  *

So where were we?  I’ve got lots to catch up on: I’ve had some good adventures, it’s harvest time on the farm, I’ve drawn some new embroidery patterns and sewn some new clothes and crafted all sorts of little bits and bobs of interesting.  I’ve also finished the whole logo deal, at least for now.  Here’s how, with your input, it all turned out:

My new mascot and logo!  I call him Charlie, and he’ll be making many future appearances.  For example, my new blog banner:

And my shop banner:

And even a 100×100 icon for various social sites:

Now to get these things up around the internets.  And then blog more.  Real blog posts, with craftiness, and with nary a computer FAIL in sight.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/12/2010 3:24 PM

    Congratulations of patching together your new computer.

    Well done!

    Hope Windows 7 works out for you.

    • 09/14/2010 10:34 AM

      I’m enjoying it so far! But then, I was upgrading from Vista- it’s kind of hard for it not to be an improvement.

  2. 09/12/2010 8:39 PM

    Charlie looks great!

    And ugh, re: Murphy’s Frankenstein-monster state. You have far more patience than I would.

    • 09/14/2010 10:35 AM

      Thank you! I rather enjoy being able to fix my own computer, even when I get a litany of things going wrong.

Leave a Reply

