Skip to content

My proudest accomplishment (of the past month)

09/14/2010

In the time I’ve been semi-absent from internetland, I’ve accomplished many things.  I made it through three canyons in Utah and only left a little skin behind.  I’ve sewed various shirts and such, and made progress on the endless Wonderwoman embroidery.  And hey, I built my third computer!  But nothing, thusfar, has made me prouder than this:

I sewed my own underwear, using a pair that fit well as a pattern.  Now that, my friends?  Is hardcore DIY in my book.

The hardest part of sewing my own underwear was finding the right elastic.  I highly recommended Sew Sassy for all your special elastic needs- they’ve got lingerie elastic in all types and colors, as well as other exotic elastics- plush-backed, fold-over, etc.

You know you’re a sewing nerd when you get excited about “exotic elastics”.

Thongs, boyshorts, bikinis,  oh my.  It seemed like the “thing” back in my dorm days was a costly obsession with high-end underwear; this is a thing which I never understood.  I always thought that Victoria’s Secret had to be how Ms. Victoria got people to pay so much money for so little fabric.  My underwear collection has thus always been entirely functional.

I think I have to make up for that now.

So yes.  Proudest accomplishment… so far.  I had an interview for my ABSOLUTE AND UTTER dream job yesterday, however, so fingers crossed.  I may top my handmade underwear yet this month!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/14/2010 4:54 PM

    A couple years ago I saw a cute pattern for underpants made from t-shirts. The modeled version made from an old Tootsie Roll Tee. Think of all the great nerd-tastic underpants you could acquire!

  2. 09/15/2010 8:00 AM

    I recall a Threadbanger video on making undies from t-shirts. See if you can find that video. Cool find on the elastic.

    Good luck with the job interview!

  3. 10/01/2010 4:13 PM

    Supercute underroos!! I’ve never had the nerve to sew any of these myself ;)

    Saw your post on the RAK group on Ravelry and thought I’d stop to say “hello”. It sounded like you could use a little pick-me-up :) Hope you feel better soon!

    • 10/14/2010 12:25 PM

      Thank you for your kindness, and for dropping by! I think I need to get making myself even more underwear- they’re such quick projects with so little up front investment, I don’t know why they were so intimidating!

Trackbacks

  1. Do-it-yourself win—make your own undies « Random Thoughts: If not now, when?

Leave a Reply

