Skip to content

Increasing My Shirt Stash

10/14/2010

Am I the only one who goes through white shirts like water?

 

I mean, they’re kind of a wardrobe basic, but I’m a) active (yay, sweat!) and b) klutzy.  They die quickly around here, so, as basic an item as they are, I decided to make my own.

 

This is one of those patterns I find myself using again and again; specifically, View D of Simplicity 4076.  It’s your basic scoop-neck t-shirt, with a little bit of gathered detailing at the neck:

 

 

While it’s probably one of the more useful shirts I’ve sewn in ages, it’s not exactly compelling blogging.  How about this reconstruction?

 

 

I used a pattern -Simplicity 2364- on an old tiger t-shirt, along with some tiger-print knit.  The Tiger is my favorite animal and the pattern is quite cool: the sleeves are structured like a shrug.

 

 

So you’d think I’d love the finished shirt, right?  Alas, it’s not to be.  The problem is the sleeves.  They ended up all frilly and lettuce-edged, and you may notice I don’t do frilly very often.

 

 

I want them to fit more firmly around my arms, but I’m not quite sure how I’m going to go about that just yet.  I could pull the frills in with some elastic, or add a black band onto the bottom of each sleeve.  I could unpick each hem and hope the fabric recovers enough that I can re-sew it, but this particular knit seems to lack the elasticity required for that.  Plus, I’ll probably have to make the hem wider to get it to stop curling, and that would make the sleeves quite short (which I also don’t like).  What do you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. madmoon permalink
    10/14/2010 11:58 AM

    Use black to make a facing for your sleeves. Pick out the existing hem then add black just below where you turned up the hem. Then refold the hem to the inside and stitch down. You may want to hand stitch the hem.

    • 10/14/2010 12:21 PM

      I think that’s just what I’ll have to do- and then, as a bonus, I’ll have little puff sleeves, which I don’t mind nearly as much as the lettuce-edge sleeves.

Leave a Reply

