Skip to content

On Unusual Yarn

10/17/2010

Sari Silk Yarn is a cacophony of bright colors spun from the fibers of recycled saris.  It’s beautiful in ball/skein form, but though I’ve had a ball in my stash for ages, I’ve had trouble figuring out what to knit up.  After much Ravelry browsing, I settled on a bias knit scarf.

 

 

I can’t decide if it’s a beautiful riot of color, or if it looks like a clown threw up.

 

It doesn’t help that the texture of the yarn changed dramatically halfway through the ball, from a thick, bright yarn with a little bit of fuzz here and there to, well, fun fur.  Observe:

 

 

It’s not even a gradual transition.   On the left, there are well-defined, fat stitches.   On the right, there’s mad fuzziness.

 

So yes.  Beautiful, or clown vomit?

 

 

I’ve thrown it in a drawer until I’m sure.

 

Meanwhile, I’ve begun my first sock!

 

 

It is sock one of Monkey, and it feels good to be knitting again.  Still, it comes with a little guilt.  Does any other jack-of-all-trades crafter feel that way?  When I’m knitting, I feel bad about the embroidery project languishing beside me; when I’m embroidering, my mind is on the dress sitting half-sewn in the back room.  There’s not enough crafting hours in the day.

 

Also, I can’t find my drawing pens.  There’s always something I can’t find.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/17/2010 9:30 AM

    first visit to your blog! will subscribe to the rss feed…
    I like the colours of the scarf, though not too hot on the texture change — like you, I would think on it for awhile — or maybe you know a daring person who would look great with this scarf?

  2. 10/17/2010 11:47 AM

    I can totally relate–I also have a sense of guilt while working on one craft and thinking about the others I “ought” to work on or finish. I’m trying to teach myself to let the guilt go!

    I had been wondering about that sari yarn, too. The wound ball kind of calls to me but I could never envision it knit up into anything. I think that the other commenter was right, it could look great on someone who is very confident and loves lots of color.

Trackbacks

  1. What to do now? « Corvus tristis: Art, Craft and an Odd Bird

Leave a Reply

