Skip to content

The Great Horned Tala

10/18/2010

I’m not too much of a collector.  Sure, I have stashes -fabric, yarn, patterns- but those are useful!  Those are hobbies, not collections!  Also, I have lots and lots of socks, so maybe I’m guilty on the collector front there.  I wear them practically every day, though.

 

So, okay.  Maybe I do have some collections.  But I want more.  I want to collect corsets (which I’d also wear, like my socks), and leather masks (ditto. Professional wardrobe? What’s that?).

 

Wouldn’t it be lovely to attend an all-out masquerade?  I love looking at leather masks online (and dreaming up costumes to go with them), and have long tried to figure out how they’re made.  Some of my favorites include angel-mask.com, and Tom Banwell, and Sundries and Plunder, and I could flip through their creations for hours.

 

So when I woke up this morning and found that I had won the Sundries and Plunder giveaway over on Grosgrain, I was (and remain) ecstatic!  I quickly replied to let them know my choice, and then began to make instant plans for a new Halloween costume.

With something like this as a starter, the costume can’t help but be gorgeous!

 

The Great Horned Owl, Bubo virginianus, is an amazing creature.  If you’ll pardon my nerding out for a moment, owls present a pile of beautiful niche adaptations.  Their flight feathers have soft, almost frayed edges, so that the sound of their flight is muffled (useful when hunting at night, as one typically flies much closer to the ground in the dark, in order to see the prey).  Their eyes and night vision are legendary, and their feet have two toes in front and two in back, which spread out into a wide x when they strike (the better not to miss if the darkness keeps one’s attack from being pinpoint).  Very cool.

 

So yes: I like owls.  And I finally get to make a masquerade costume!

 

 

Well, something like it, at least.  I think a full on hoop-skirts-and-corsets-and-floof costume would be rather cost prohibitive for me, what with the whole “looking for a job but not finding it” thing.  So here’s the plan: I’m going to make a nice little dress with the brown panne, and use the three other fabrics to make some wings.  I’m taking as inspiration for my wings the following.

 

This:

 

 

From here.

 

And this:

 

 

From here.

 

I can’t wait to see how this shapes up!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/19/2010 7:25 AM

    I’m sure your costume is going to be just gorgeous. That first pair of wings is called isis wings in the bellydance realm – I’m sure you can find tutorials on making them.

    Congrats on winning a beautiful leather mask! I’m surrounded by them all summer at the Renn Faire mask shop – they are works of art.

Leave a Reply

