Skip to content

Grey Wrap Dress

12/13/2010

 

Here in Colorado we’ve had a few days of unseasonable warmness, and so I don’t feel entirely odd posting a minidress in the middle of the winter.  I was rather chilly taking that picture, however.  Hopefully it’s worth it.

 

The pattern is Simplicity 2369:

 

 

It was a very straightforward piece to construct, and thus leaves me at a bit of a loss as to what to write about.  Nothing particularly disturbing nor interesting happened during the course of sewing my new dress, and it turned out quite cute (if I do say so myself)… so hey!

 

Maybe I should just post more pictures.

 

 

I could talk about the fabric: grey jersey, thin and soft, a little bit of stretch, a cute paisley print in yellow…

 

…and that’s about all I’ve got to say about the fabric too.  Maybe another picture?

 

 

I did shorten it a little, so it’s verging on scandalous- I wanted something that made my rather workhorse legs look long for once.  I plan to wear it with leggings most of the time, but felt like showing off my big thigh muscles (and getting some much-needed sun/Vitamin D- ARRGH WINTER) for the pictures.

 

Now that this one is done, I can start working on a shirt-length one for a Christmas present.  Shhh, don’t tell!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/13/2010 9:40 PM

    Wicked. I’ve been thinking I wanted to make a new dress for a few days now.

    That dress is HOT and I’m definitely making it for myself.

    YOINK!

    • 12/15/2010 7:57 AM

      Thank you! I’d love to see how yours turns out. It’s a fast sew, too- if I had actually sat down and worked on it all at once, I couldn’t see it taking more than an hour to an hour and a half (once it’s cut out).

  2. Leslie permalink
    12/30/2010 3:09 PM

    Love it! I just got my first sewing machine and this looks like an easy project, once I can get past only being able to sew a straight line and all.

Leave a Reply

