Skip to content

Mistletoe and Mono: The Holidays for Micro Nerds

12/14/2010

I have an embroidery pattern for you.  Call it an early holiday present.

Ahh, mistletoe.  Harbinger of love, of warmth, of kisses, and of lots and lots of shared infections.  This lovely sprig of mistletoe is be-ringed with the Epstein-Barr virus, with its characteristic viral capsid surrounded by a membrane.  Epstein-Barr or EBV is yet another member of the Herpesvirus family to cause common, but obnoxious, infection: in this case, Mononucleosis, or Kissing Disease.

I thought it appropriate.

EBV is one of the most common viruses in the human race- half of all Americans are exposed by the time they’re five, and over 95% by the time they reach adulthood.  Oddly enough, exposure in the very young rarely causes symptoms; it’s adolescence that they begin to get mononucleosis… and mononucleosis is only one of the many conditions EBV is associated with.

I made a colored version:

Why, you may ask, would I make a colored version?  Because I thought it would make a nice and nerdy holiday fabric, that’s why.

Because I’m weird.

And a nerd.

I can’t help myself.

And if you like the juxtaposition of mistletoe with EBV, well, I’m not the only one with the idea (though I feel like I should point out to them that, as far as I know, red berries and pointy leaves is Holly; mistletoe has round leaves and white berries).

Click on the picture, and you’ll get the full-res.  I release these free bits of line art under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

 

You are allowed and indeed encouraged to do whatever you want with the piece(s) (use, reuse, abuse, remix, share, and of course, embroider), just follow these two simple rules:

1) Give me credit (a link back is always appreciated- that way, everyone else knows they can use it too)
2) Don’t make a profit off any use or modification of my work.

To be fair, I won’t sue you or anything if you don’t give me credit- I’ll just feel all hurt, and no one wants that.  Also to be fair, should you really want to use them in a profit-making venture (ie: stitch it on something you then sell in your etsy store, use it as a print for your own fabric line, etc.), talk to me and maybe we can work something out so everybody wins.  Should you want to say thanks, leave a comment and/or tell a friend or six.  Finally, if you do make something, embroidery or not, let me know and I’ll happily blog it!

You can find a reminder/introduction to embroidery, including basic stitches and a by-no-means exhaustive list of methods of transferring patterns to fabric in this post (there’s also a good round-up here and another one here).  Finally: if you’ve got suggestions for embroidery patterns you’d like to see, I would love to hear them (no promises, though).  You can find the rest of my patterns under the Embroidery Patterns category.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/14/2010 9:28 PM

    Thanks for visiting my blog and entering the giveaway! For some reason blogger won’t let me access your email so I am glad to have found you here! What a neat site! I am a science junkie and crafter too……odd nerdy combo and I love it!!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Mistletoe and Mono: The Holidays for Micro Nerds « Corvus tristis: Science, Craft and an Odd Bird -- Topsy.com
  2. Holiday Octopus « Corvus tristis: Science, Craft and an Odd Bird

Leave a Reply

