Skip to content

T-Shirts to Wrap Skirts: The Plan

02/08/2011

The first thing I like to do, when approaching a project, is a mental exercise: I do the project, every cut and seam, in my head.   I have enough experience by this point that such an exercise will often show me where problem areas are, as well as help me determine how to approach (and indeed, complete) the project.

 

Such an exercise is how I develop my plan.

 

We’re starting with these:

 

 

And we want to end up with this:

 

 

And this is how we’ll get there:

 

Step One: Measuring

 

 

(Side note: when I draw cartoon versions of myself, James inevitably looks over my shoulder and says “More boobs.”  Inevitably, he is right.)

 

(Side note two: the deformed hand above is one of the major reasons I rarely draw people as embroidery patterns.  Eergh, hands!)

 

We’ll start with two to three measurements.  One will go from where you want the skirt to sit on your waist to where you want it to fall.  The second will be around the hips, from where you want one end of the wrap skirt to be to where the other will be- and remember, you want them to overlap significantly.  I suspect noting your hip measurement here will help with figuring out the ties, as well.

 

Step Two: Cutting

 

Using the measurements taken above, I’ll cut a large rectangle out of both color t-shirts.  If it turns out I need additional fabric to finish off the rectangles, well, that’s what a sewing machine is for.  I’ll then cut out much narrower, longer rectangles for the waistband- this is where the hip measurement will come in handy.  I figure something 2.5-3x the circumference of my hip will make for a big floofy bow. The final bit of cutting: curving the edges.  Because I want to.

 

Step Three: Sewing

 

Because I want this skirt to be reversible, I’m going to stitch it together like I would, say, a pillow.  That means I’ll sew each waistband piece onto its respective rectangle, then place the two big pieces right-side-together and stitch all the way around, leaving a gap at the end.  Then I’ll turn it right side out through the gap, stitch the gap closed, then do lots of topstitching and decorative stitching just to make it awesome.  And voila!  That should be how it all goes together, should it go smooth.

 

I hope.  Fingers crossed.  Things never go smooth.

 

(Why do things never go smooth?)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

