Skip to content

Raise Your Hand if You Saw This Coming

02/22/2011

Apparently all I needed to do to land a full-time job, after over a year and a half of desperately searching everything from the CDC to Hooters, was make a commemitment to you, my dear readers, to blog consistently for a month.

 

 

I got a job.  An actual J-O-B-job.  In a very nice lab, which happens to sit a not-so-nice commute away from my current location. I got a phone call from them, interviewed the next day, got an offer the day after that, and have been fumbling around with preparing ever since.  I start Monday.

 

I will finish all these projects I’ve promised, but as I warned, landing a job means my time-frame is beyond shot.  I don’t know what sort of free time I’ll have over the next few months, particularly as I’ll be dealing with some significant life changes.

 

Some of these changes are quite positive.  I’ve never in my life had a real career-type job, and the past year and a half of unstable temp and seasonal work, and trying to live on what will add up to less than $2000 of income when I get my taxes finished, has only been possible due to those who love me.  I’ll be able to support myself now, and maybe even be someone who can help out those I love when they need it, as they have helped me.  I’ll be able to pay off my student loans.  And I’ll be able to start setting aside enough money to launch my embroidery pattern company, complete with physical iron-on transfers.

 

There will also be some changes I’m not so excited about, even some I dread.  Moving on from this stage of my life, due to perfectly reasonable circumstances, will inevitably mean leaving behind the parts of it I treasure, and I have absolutely no idea what -if anything- will take their place.

 

 

And so I find myself waiting, both happy and sad, and with no time for either.  It’s time to focus inward, and get everything in line in the confines of my skull and start this new life as fantastically as I possibly can.  Time to prove myself, perhaps.

 

 

It’s time to get to work.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/22/2011 5:43 PM

    Congratulations! There will be an adjustment period, but things will even out, eventually. :)

  2. 02/23/2011 2:54 AM

    congratulations and good luck!! You’ll be fine! everything will be fine. If you want to blog/sew you’ll always find the time. But don’t feel pressured by us lot :-)

    X G

  3. 02/23/2011 6:06 AM

    Congratulations! Blogging is a good hobby but not a profession (at least for the majority) so have fun with the new position. Make sure you download some books on a iPod for those commutes!

  4. 02/23/2011 6:13 AM

    when one door closes…another opens…even if it’s hell in the hallway…

    found this in one’s of those keep up the good work type emails and every time I’m faced with a change good or bad I think of this…some times it even works!

    ~Yane

  5. Amber permalink
    02/24/2011 4:36 PM

    Congratulations and comiseration! It’s so exciting to finally get a real job, but it’s really nerve-wracking too. Just take deep breaths and go for it!

  6. 02/27/2011 6:18 AM

    Congratulations! Starting something new is always scary, especially when you weren’t unhappy with the way things were, but we all have faith in you :)
    I hope the job is wonderful, and I hope you find a little time each month to sew, even if you don’t blog about it, just to relax :)

  7. Giddy99 permalink
    02/27/2011 6:59 AM

    Hey, congratulations! A new job is exciting, and even if there is the occasional dull day, it pays the bills, right? :)

  8. 03/01/2011 9:45 AM

    Just stopping by to wish you the best and leave some good juju with you. It sounds like an exciting time in your life!

Leave a Reply

