Skip to content

The Crow and the Needle

03/06/2011

Or should it just be Crow and Needle?  I’m not sure yet.

 

 

It has begun!  I’ve begun working on patterns, begun contacting printers with actual plans in hand, and of course will begin setting aside the money needed to launch this business as soon as I get a paycheck.  I even made a logo (and that’s the important part, right?) and am researching the appropriate business paperwork- though I don’t think I need to get that totally squared away until I have something to send to the printers.

 

I will have my embroidery pattern business, and I will have it this year.

 

I’d like to put this out as an official announcement today because a pattern of mine -complete with my first experimental .pdf file- just went up at Feeling Stitchy for their March Stitchalong, and I thought new visitors might like to know what my lovely readers and I have been working on here at the Corvus tristis blog.

 

Hi.  My name is Tala, and I am starting an embroidery pattern company.  It’s a quick and simple story: I’ve loved to draw since childhood, and when I found embroidery, naturally fell into drawing my own patterns.  A few years ago it occurred to me to share those patterns with my blog readers, and very quickly my embroidery patterns became the most popular feature of the blog.  Thus was born my dreams of launching an actual embroidery pattern business.  I would, I fantasized, draw up big, fancy, geeky (and I am a HUGE geek), glorious sheets of multi-imprinting iron-on transfers which hit on all my favorite nerdy and sciencey themes, which really served the nerd contingent of the crafty community, while also continuing to release free patterns on this blog (and of course, chronicle all my other crafty adventures).  It would be a challenge, a joy, a success, and a way to really take control of my own financial future, and always have something of my very own to fall back on as I try to navigate a career in Microbiology.

 

The problem was, the only places I could find to get patterns printed (well, the only ones that responded to my queries) had absolutely prohibitive minimum order/start-up costs for my unemployed budget.  Then (last Monday, in fact) I started a new job, my first real career job, and suddenly the budget has a lot more wiggle room.  This, therefore, is the year for the launch of The Crow and the Needle, an embroidery pattern company serving the beautifully nerdy.

 

So hello, new readers, and hello loyal fans!  You can find the full collection of my free embroidery patterns here.  Stick around and follow me, my crafts, and my journey from doodling blogger to successful (I hope!) crafty businesswoman.  I know a lot of you have been excited about this, and have been giving me fantastic and much loved support as I’ve tried to figure out how to make this happen, and I thank you.  And please, I’d love to hear what you think is missing in the embroidery pattern market, what you think about my patterns thusfar, and what it is you’d like to see come out of The Crow and the Needle.

 

It’s going to be a good year.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy G. permalink
    03/06/2011 9:48 AM

    A big congratulations to you for your new job, your Feeling Stitchy pattern and for finally being able to take the steps to start your pattern business! I can’t wait to see what your first pattern will be!

    And, I like The Crow and The Needle (or even A Crow and A Needle) better than Crow and Needle. The first way (with the “The”) establishes the words as nouns. Without anything in front of the words, they could also be taken as verbs… which is actually kind of clever!

  2. Amanda permalink
    03/06/2011 1:33 PM

    I’m so excited by this news! I love your science-y patterns (especially the paleo patterns) and really look forward to what you come up with in your new venture.

  3. 03/06/2011 2:01 PM

    I also like The Crow and the Needle better than just Crow and Needle. The latter sounds to me like a tavern in a really strange fantasy town, but maybe that’s just me?

    Thanks for contributing the pattern for the stitchalong as well, I found Feeling Stitchy just in time to participate in last month’s, and I’m really looking forward to this one!

  4. 03/07/2011 3:34 PM

    Just more of the same, love!
    I am so glad for you!

  5. 03/12/2011 9:48 AM

    Great news! You’re on your way now.

    But I’m going to cast a vote for just “Crow & Needle” because it’s easier to remember and google search. (love the logo graphic – it’s stunning!)

  6. 03/13/2011 12:49 AM

    Hello, I love your patterns and I used your tentacle pattern to make a pillow for a good friend:

    Thought you might like to see. Thanks so much for the use of your pattern!

    Best of luck on your venture.

  7. 04/06/2011 9:05 AM

    Wishing you the very best of luck with your new business venture! You are so brave for getting out there and doing it and I’m sure it’s going to be a great success.

Leave a Reply

