Skip to content

My Triumphant Return

07/06/2011

First there was the new job. Then there was night shift. Then there was moving out and moving in and breaking up and moving on.  Then there was…. no camera cord.

 

Damn you, moving.

 

(I can’t find my bundt pan either. Or my cookbooks. Oh noes!)

 

Moving on!

 

I have had this blog, in various incarnations, since April of 2003 (and under the Corvus tristis name since February of 2007). That is over 7 years, more than a quarter of my relatively-young life. I’ve been a lot of things in those years. I’ve been a student, a graduate, a lover. I’ve been a part of the unemployed masses in the largest recession of my lifetime, and now I am learning the role of “responsible, employed, bill-paying adult”. The one constant, though all of it, is making. I have always been, and will always be, a crafter an an artist. And now, as the ash settles on my most recent phoenixfire rebirth, it’s time to get back to it.

 

So hello again, lovelies! Did you miss me? I’ve been up to all sorts of mischief.

 

 

This is my new craft room, also known as the living room.  On the one hand, it cuts the living room in half and is kind of cluttered, which sucks.  On the other, you know the moment you walk into my humble apartment that you’ve entered the domain of a mad sewist, and that’s cool! I like the fabric-as-wall-decor, though I’m thinking I may need to add another two hooks between and a level lower than the three already there, to really cover the wall.

 

This is my first place of my own, without roommates or boyfriends, and my first place where I really have usable income.  Thus, I’m kind of getting into decoration- I really want it to be mine, you know?  This should provide much discussion on zee blog in the future (and if you have any ideas for my living room/craft room, let me know), but meanwhile, there’s crafting to get to.

 

I’ve been embroidering:

 

 

And sewing:

 

 

And more sewing:

 

 

And even this, which I think you guys will like:

 

 

I can hear you from here: “What’s that, and why do you think we’d like it more than all the stitchy and fabri-y goodness above?”  That, my friends, is the book which contains the first pattern sketches for The Crow and the Needle. The work has begun.

 

Ahh, it feels lovely to be back, and I’ve brought lots of blog fodder with me.  What about you all? Anyone still out there? What have you been up to? Made anything cool in my absence? And hey, did you miss me?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/06/2011 7:21 AM

    Welcome back!

  2. 07/06/2011 7:25 AM

    Glad you’re back…you were missed…
    I’m working on wee baby goodies, many quilt tops I need to complete as they are stacking up, burp cloths out of fabulous flannels, receiving blankets, embroidered bibs…whew…have grandbaby # 2 due in November so I’m sewing/quilting furiously…Olivia (yup a girl) will join Oliver in my heart and home!
    :)
    ~Elaine

  3. 07/06/2011 7:50 AM

    I absolutely LOVE the term ‘mad sewist.’ :D

  4. 07/06/2011 8:01 AM

    *claps* it’s hard being a responsible bill paying citizen as well as a mad sewist ^.^ good luck… my living room is my craft space too!! haha, but thankfully I have laminate floor… I HATED laminate floor until I started sewing. I might actually shoot myself if I head to sew in a carpeted area :-( all the threads!! (the minus side is that my floor is essentially my work surface a lot of the time so now that I’m super duper pregnant I can’t do so much… and even without being pregnant pattern cutting would usually result in sore knees/back…. oh well… )

  5. 07/06/2011 9:18 AM

    welcome back! love your craft space! i don’t really have craft space, i just spread out over our living room/dining room/office which is all one tiny room… lol

  6. 07/06/2011 9:30 AM

    So glad that you’re back!
    I can’t wait to see your new projects

  7. 07/06/2011 11:47 AM

    I did miss you! I checked in often and it gave me quite a smile to see you back :-}
    I love the fabric on the wall, it can change with whatever you will be working on too. (I love changeable decor).
    Os and I will be moving at some point this year, too when he finds a new job. I am all excited as the new place will be 100% accessible and I will be able to cook and craft to my heart’s content, maybe even starting up my collage fun again.
    Welcome home!

  8. giddy99 permalink
    07/06/2011 8:54 PM

    oh, what a coincidence! I just checked your blog a couple of days ago, wondering what had happened to you! Glad to know you’re alive and kicking… and embroidering, et al. :)

  9. 07/06/2011 11:44 PM

    Lovely to see you back! I envy your living room sew space lol, mine’s crammed in at the end of my bed! Looking forward to seeing your new patterns!

  10. 07/07/2011 9:14 PM

    Glad the ashes have settled and you have come out alive and crafting.

  11. 07/10/2011 8:17 PM

    *Like*… :)

  12. 07/11/2011 6:21 PM

    I’m so glad you’re back!

Leave a Reply

