Skip to content

On Trend: Scalloped Hem

07/20/2011

When it comes to trends, I tend to be ambivalent. Loyally following the crowd has never been for me, but at the same time, rejecting something -a motif, a style, an activity- just because it’s popular? Well, that’s still allowing popularity to dictate one’s tastes. Me? I try to like what I like, trendy or no.

I love pirates and zombies, and always have, and likely always will.  I don’t really get mustaches, but hey, to each his own.  I’m a huge animal nerd, and so find the foxes and owls and deer that so infest Etsy to be awesome (though I’m still waiting on the indie craft rise of the beloved Binturong).

Lately I’ve been adoring one little detail that’s popping up all over the handmade world: scalloped hems.  With a project list a mile long, though, I didn’t want to dedicate a whole lot of time to it just yet- I needed a fast, easy project to give me a taste of this particular hot-off-the-trend-press cuteness.

 

So here’s how I made a scalloped skirt, quick-n-dirty style.

 

It started, as many good things do, with this internetalicious inspiration and a quick trip to the thrift store for a skirt.  I spent a while trying out different circles for the template- I eventually found the perfect one at craft night (hey look, I have a craft night now!), where it led a previously unassuming life as part of the table.  Don’t worry; I put it back once I got what I wanted.

 

 

A little bit of chalk, a little bit of scissorwork…

 

 

…and fray check.  Because sewing all those little scallops? Would not be in keeping with the quick-and-dirty spirit of this project.

 

A word on fray check: is there any ventilation in the world good enough for this stuff? I went out onto my deck and still got lightheaded on fray check fumes.  Still, potential brain damage aside, I like the end result:

 

 

Yep. I like it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/21/2011 2:51 AM

    quick ‘n’ dirty = genius! I’d have never considered using fray check like that (note to self, must buy fray check)

    I’m going to be in desperate need of a denim mini to rock with my boots after this baby is born, pinteresting this for laters! <3

    x GS

  2. 07/21/2011 5:50 AM

    Great skirt, but I LOVE the boots!

  3. Zoë permalink
    07/21/2011 6:00 AM

    Ditto the “Great skirt, but I LOVE the boots!” :)

Leave a Reply

