Skip to content

What I’m Up To

01/30/2012

1) I updated the About Me page.

 

2) I made this soup.  It is absolutely amazing.  Make it.  Do not think about the calories. Do not think about the stick of butter, or the ton of Parmesan. Just make it.

 

3) I’m in the middle of making these cookies, following the recipe word-for-word, demanding flour requirements and all.  We’re on the “refrigerate at least 24 hours” stage.  I’ll tell you if the special flour blend and hours in my little fridge make a noticeable difference in relative cookie fantastic-ness.

 

 

4) I’m trying to sew a skirt.  I’m aiming for “wiggle skirt”, and I was quite happy with the butt-hugging wiggly fit until I basted the waistband on…. and something went wonky in the front of the skirt.  It’s like it actually got looser with the waistband attached, which mystified me.  Will I ever understand the arcane and nefarious ways of fabric?  Le sigh.  I have seam ripped (oh, how I have seam ripped), and will shortly retry the basting part.

 

 

5) I’m also knitting a Baby Surprise Jacket for a baby-having friend.  I suspect I’m reaching the stage in my life where all my friends are getting married and having kids.  Which kind of gives me, your single, child-shunning host, the creeping heebeejeebees.  Creeping heebeejeebees does not preculde the knitting of baby sweaters, however.

 

I’ve been getting help.  With the knitting, not the creeping heebeejeebees.

 

 

Perhaps not the most, err, helpful help in the world, but certainly very enthusiastic.

 

 

Anyway! I’m pretty sure I’ve totally screwed up this here sweater, but the instructions are so vague (if ingenious) and the sweater so amorphous that I’m not sure.  So, uh… knit or rip?  Anyone else made one of these beauties?

 

 

5) One of my resolutions, now that I have an income, is to buy handmade and thus give back to the crafty community that I so adore.  With that in mind, I give you my etsy purchase of the week: a new tag for my Mishy!

 

Mishto. Mishy. Mish. Fish. Fishy.  It works.

 

 

It’s from themadstampers on etsy, and it’s perfect.  Mishto agrees. He thinks it makes him look handsome.  At least, he’s gotten real obsessed with the mirror lately.

 

(So not kidding.  He’s sitting in front of it, looking at himself, as we speak.  If pattern holds, he’ll sit there for the next twenty minutes just… staring.  There’s a little voice in my head that squeaks “I’m sexy and I know it” every time I glance at him.)

 

6) What do you think of pinning your own work?  I feel a bit vain doing it, but it occurred to be that Pinterest provides a perfect platform to make a quick, easy visual database of all my free embroidery patterns.  That way, you can see all I’m offering without having to click through to each individual post.  Good idea or bad idea?  Either way, implemented idea.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/30/2012 2:51 PM

    Haven’t made the BSJ yet, so can’t offer any help, but love the color you picked!

    • 02/08/2012 4:26 AM

      Thank you! I’m not a big fan of the usual gendered colors, so I figured I’d just go for something pretty.

  2. Stephanie Whiteside permalink
    01/30/2012 10:51 PM

    Your Mishton bears quite a resemblance to my Fred! Who also loves to admire himself in the mirror.

    The tag is lovely — I’ll have to check out that Etsy seller.

    • 02/08/2012 4:28 AM

      I was quite satisfied with the transaction- the seller even engraved “Indoor Cat” on the back for me, above the phone number, because I’ve got so many people in my neighborhood that just let their cats out that I want to make sure anyone who reads it knows Mishto’s not supposed to be wandering the streets. And pretty! Almost makes me want a collar of my own.

  3. 01/31/2012 2:49 AM

    Oooh your cat is gorgeous!

    And although I agree with the iffyness about pinning your own work, I think it’s a great idea to be able to see all your patterns together!

    • 02/08/2012 4:29 AM

      Someday I’ll get off my butt, get an actual website of my own, and create some kind of visual index there. Until then, however, you use the tools you have.

  4. 01/31/2012 3:21 AM

    Re: Pinterest, I think it’s fine to pin your own stuff provided you create a new board for it, as you’ve done. It annoys me when I follow a board called (e.g.) “crochet” and 2/3 or more of the pins turn out to be the poster’s own products – it makes me feel a bit cheated. But if the board is called “my patterns” or something, then people have the option to follow it or not.

    And Mishto looks very handsome with his new collar tag!

    • 02/08/2012 4:29 AM

      That was kind of my thought, thank you! I figure if you go forward as transparently and honestly as possible, even if you step on a few toes your tread won’t be too heavy.

  5. 02/01/2012 1:58 AM

    Yep I’m with June on this one. Pin away, but have your own board for it. Pimping is totally socially acceptable.

    Also holy crap I need to try that soup. It’s conveniently my turn to cook tomorrow. Looks like we’re having soup. This summer’s been cold enough for it.

    • 02/08/2012 4:30 AM

      I’m already making the soup again, this time for a work pot luck. Soooo good.

  6. ann permalink
    08/12/2012 8:32 PM

    cute cat with an original name. He deserves more than a medal and he knows. Maybe an award?

  7. Julie permalink
    09/19/2012 9:04 PM

    I’m very grateful that you created a pinboard with your embroidery patterns – it’s helpful and not in the least boastful. Although you SHOULD boast, being such a renaissance woman of many interests and talents. Yay Geeks!

Leave a Reply

