Skip to content

the Bear’s New Hat

02/08/2012

First off, the cookies were awesome.  I think I’ll stick to that recipe for now.

It seems like the most blog-worthy things I can churn out lately are more embroidery patterns.  That’s because I can doodle anywhere, I suppose, whereas my other projects are not so transportable.  Or, like the BSJ, are just pissing me off.

So here you go:

At first the other animals all laughed at the bear’s new hat, but they didn’t laugh for long.

….

I have no idea where that came from.  Maybe it’s just my weird love for grizzly paws.  I mean, seriously, look at these things!  Very squee-worthy, I think.

I am a strange bird.

Click on the picture, and you’ll get the full-res.  I release these free bits of line art under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

You are allowed and indeed encouraged to do whatever you want with the piece(s) (use, reuse, abuse, remix, share, and of course, embroider), just follow these two simple rules:

1) Give me credit (a link back is always appreciated- that way, everyone else knows they can use it too)
2) Don’t make a profit off any use or modification of my work.

To be fair, I won’t sue you or anything if you don’t give me credit- I’ll just feel all hurt, and no one wants that.  Also to be fair, should youreally want to use them in a profit-making venture (ie: stitch it on something you then sell in your etsy store, use it as a print for your own fabric line, etc.), talk to me and maybe we can work something out so everybody wins.  Should you want to say thanks, leave a comment and/or tell a friend or six.  Finally, if you do make something, embroidery or not, let me know and I’ll happily blog it!

You can find a reminder/introduction to embroidery, including basic stitches and a by-no-means exhaustive list of methods of transferring patterns to fabric in this post (there’s also a good round-up here and another one here).  Finally: if you’ve got suggestions for embroidery patterns you’d like to see, I would love to hear them (no promises, though).  You can find the rest of my patterns under the Embroidery Patterns category.

Stay warm, my friends.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    05/07/2012 3:16 PM

    Not sure how, but your website dropped off my Google Reader (that’s been corrected), and I was wondering where you’ve been until the Feeling Stitchy mention.

    • 05/08/2012 9:38 AM

      Truthfully, I’ve been having trouble staying on the internet map myself. Work made crafting difficult for a while, but I think I’m achieving some form of balance finally! Welcome back!

  2. Lauren permalink
    05/07/2012 3:16 PM

    Oh, and love the bear!

Trackbacks

  1. Free pattern: The Bear’s New Hat · Needlework News | CraftGossip.com

Leave a Reply

