Skip to content

One of Those Days

02/29/2012

It is one of those days.

 

 

One of those gray, cold, low-sky, lonely-snowflakes, I-need-some-logs-for-my-fireplace kind of days.  One of those winter days that are really starting to drag on me, that make me want to hibernate, to cocoon myself up in robes and blankets and the four walls of my little apartment and whisper to myself “Summer will be here soon.” It’s also my day off, and I’ll be damned if I’m going to waste one of those. I have exactly three goals:

 

 

1) Make some sweet potato chili.  I’m not following an exact recipe; rather, there’s been a bunch of black bean/sweet potato recipes floating around the internet that have got the ol’ wheels churning.  This is what I’ve got to work with; I’ll let you know how it turns out.  The black beans are cooking up as we speak (or, well, type).

 

 

2) Work on my painting.  A while ago I decided that I needed something above my bed.  Enter one giant canvas, and my uncle’s old oil paints.  It’s really quite a fulfilling activity, even though I don’t know what I’m doing or have any technique to speak of.  Still, I’m sticking to a simple motif- a birchwood forest- and mostly just enjoying slapping some paint around.   One thing of note: it takes a hell of a lot of the oily, pigment-y stuff to cover a canvas this big.

 

3) Clean up a bit.  Not that that’s interesting bloggfodder, in the slightest.

 

How do you all plan to last the winter?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/29/2012 7:56 AM

    I am in love with your zombie canister. Can you please please please leave that to me in your will? I promise I’d give it a good home with lots of other weird, creepy home decor to keep it company. Looks like you have the fixings for a delicious meal there. You can’t really go wrong with a great chili with all of those yummy veggies.

  2. 02/29/2012 8:36 PM

    I love your zombie cookie jar!

Leave a Reply

