Skip to content

Cheshire Pumpkin

10/26/2012

Tis the season!

 

 

 

My carving tools included those cheap little saws they sell in pumpkin carving kits, some little linocut bits without the handle, because I’ve mislaid the handle (d’oh!), and an Xacto knife.

 

 

Largely unrelated story: when I was a little kid, I used to do model (and eventually, high-powered) rocketry.  I once took part in a test group for a major manufacturer in the field, wherein a pack of kids built a pre-market rocket kit, to see if it was something a pack of kids could understand and build before they started selling it.  I was one of the younger kids in the group, and had always been rather self-conscious and unable to ask for help or admit my own failings (I may or may not have grown out of this).  On one part, I was trying to shave a little flange of plastic off the form (for to make it pretty!) and my hand slipped, and I stabbed myself in the palm with an Xacto knife.

It was a bad wound; the knife went in to the handle and I know I stared at my hand opened-mouthed for more than a moment as the blood welled out and ran down my wrist.  But I didn’t want anyone to know that the little kid had screwed up, so I wiped off the blade (and the rocket, and the table, and the floor) and did my best to hide it.

It bled for more than an hour.

I don’t know how I succeeded in hiding it- there was plenty of adult supervision.  I even hid it once I went back home; to this day I don’t think my mother knows I stabbed myself.

I was an odd child. And I suspect scarred hands are the mark of a creative soul.

 

 

 

Also, valuable learning experience! After all, I’m much better with Xacto knives now.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/27/2012 7:42 AM

    Wow, that is quite the beauty when its all lit up like that! Nice job!

  2. girlstoriesblog permalink
    10/29/2012 3:20 AM

    Wow! On both the kickass Cheshire Cat pumpkin, and your exacto knife wound story! I cringed when I read it, thinking Oh my God! I can’t believe you didn’t go to the hospital! But then I remembered the time I was teasing my dog and she bit me, and saw my wrist bone in the bite before the blood started to well up. I was so worried about getting in trouble for teasing the dog, so I just bandaged the hell out of my wrist and pressed it really hard to stop the bleeding. And yeah, somehow my parents never found out, and I have a cool scar to this day;)

    Seriously, though, I love your Cheshire Cat! I’m gonna have to break out my linocut tools now. I’ve never thought of using them for pumpkin carving, but that is a great idea!

    • 11/07/2012 2:57 AM

      I wonder how common “hiding major wound from parents” is as a life story. Interesting to think that there might be a stage in some childhoods where fear of censure or embarrassment exceeds concern for physical well-being.

      • Kamil permalink
        12/08/2012 10:16 AM

        I don’t think is not as much about fear of censure or embarrassment as the fear of being forbidden from doing something that the injured one loves. I remember I used to play whith my cousin in an abbandoned construction site… we tripped many times, peeling knees and elbows but to this day no one ever knows that we even went there…
        But returning to the Cheshire cat, the carving should be exposed in some museum. As long as the candle is not lit… whith your picture it brakes the fourth wall. I know it was halloween, but no need to give people nightmares

        • 12/11/2012 11:45 AM

          It’s thoughts like this that make me glad I don’t plan to have children. :)

Leave a Reply

