Skip to content

Walking Denver

11/23/2012

I like walking.  Long time readers might remember I once walked across a large east African country, and now that I’ve settled into Denver I haven’t stopped yet.  I’ve gotten into the habit of picking a neighborhood a weekend, and wandering around to my heart’s content.

I particularly like walking with my camera.  I learn lots, and not just about the camera, but about the city as well.

One weekend, I packed up ye olde camera and my mp3 player and walked around Highlands and Slone Lake.  I think, when I got to the end of it, it came out to seven or eight miles.  Not too bad.

I like the Highlands neighborhood.  The food is tasty, and you never know when you’ll find an octopus on the wall.

The next weekend I hit City Park, wherein lies the Denver Museum of Nature and Science and the Denver Zoo.

This weekend I did Cherry Creek, and even though I had my camera on me, I didn’t take it out.  There are some really cool houses (coughcastlescough) in that area, but I feel a bit odd snapping pictures of someone’s home.  So I just walked.

It was nice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kamil permalink
    11/28/2012 1:37 AM

    I usually just read and appreciate the craftywork, a masterpiece in all forms, but this time I had to ask. The raven in the picture… how long did it take you to capture the moment – it feels as if the bird froze in space and time- assuming you knew there were ravens/crows, you had to wait for the bird to fly there? Or you were just passing by and took the picture?

    • 12/03/2012 4:17 AM

      I noticed a bunch of crows hanging out on the shore of the lake as I was walking around it. I set my shutter speed as high as I could to freeze motion, turned on continuous shooting/burst mode, and just walked towards them holding the button down. That leaves you with a stack of pictures that aren’t quite right, and usually, just a few that are great.

      It doesn’t quite work for the geese around Slone Lake, because they don’t fly off when you walk towards them. They just get pissy and try to bite your kneecaps off.

    • 12/03/2012 4:22 AM

      Also, thank you for commenting! I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

