Skip to content

Cookie Party!

12/16/2012

Last Sunday was my second annual cookie exchange of awesome!  I had a pile of friends over and fed them a tasty dinner, with the cost of admission set at one half-batch of cookies per head.  They were all delicious.

 

These were my contributions:

 

DSC_0143_01

 

These delicious morsels were Orange Creamsicle Cookies.  I zested two oranges and one thumb for these things, and it was worth it.

 

Second, I made these, and then was so damn proud of myself I proceeded to drag every single person who walked over my threshold over to look at them while squealing like a small child.

 

DSC_0146_01

 

 

They’re Dinosaur cookies!  I used the recipe for turning cake mix into cutout cookies here.  One box of chocolate cake mix and a pair of dinosaur cookie cutters later and I had myself an entire herd:

 

DSC_0155

 

 

The cookies spread more than I’d like for cutout cookies, but were quick and easy (which was the goal, what with party to be hosting).  Luckily my planned method of frosting -ie, bones- really just needed a generally-dinosaur-shaped background.

 

I whipped up a batch of buttercream, popped it into a ziplock bag and clipped off the corner, no fancy tips required. There were triceratops, and also stegosaurus:

 

DSC_0153

 

 

It may sound a bit self-centered, but I’m just so damn proud of myself for these.  I’ve never really done much fancy frostingness, and I may have exploded my first bag of sugary goodness in the squeezing of it (protip: don’t pack a ziplock bag full, that’s bad), so I think these are kind of epic for my skill level.

 

DSC_0138

 

Now I want some actual frosting bags/tips.  And more dinosaur cookie cutters.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gaby permalink
    12/17/2012 3:58 PM

    Wow, great job icing those skeletons! You are quite right to be proud of yourself :) ! Also those flavours sound delicious.

  2. Kamil permalink
    12/22/2012 5:00 AM

    I dare to say it’s not those dino cookies that are epic, but your skill level is god-like.

Leave a Reply

